Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Garden Fundamentals Workshop

Garden Fundamentals Workshop

Seed-Saving From Your Home Garden

2024-09-28 16:00:00 2024-09-28 18:00:00 America/Denver Garden Fundamentals Workshop Cultivate a thriving garden this season with The City Library's Garden Fundamentals workshop series. Classes take place at The Plot garden, March–September, the last Saturday of each month. Main Library - The Plot Community Garden

Saturday, September 28
4:00pm - 6:00pm

Add to Calendar 2024-09-28 16:00:00 2024-09-28 18:00:00 America/Denver Garden Fundamentals Workshop Cultivate a thriving garden this season with The City Library's Garden Fundamentals workshop series. Classes take place at The Plot garden, March–September, the last Saturday of each month. Main Library - The Plot Community Garden

Main Library

The Plot Community Garden

Cultivate a thriving garden this season with The City Library's Garden Fundamentals workshop series. Classes take place at The Plot garden, March–September, the last Saturday of each month.

This growing season, The City Library will host a series of workshops to help you cultivate a thriving garden. Whether you are gardening at home, maintaining a plot in a community garden, or just want to learn more about gardening, we welcome everybody to join us for these free hands-on learning experiences. Workshops will be held the last Saturday of each month, from March through September. 

Schedule

Sat, March 30, 2–4pm · Beekeeping Resources

Sat, Apr 27, 2–4pm · Introduction to Mycology with Mushroom Cultivation Demonstration

Sat, May 25, 10am–Noon · High-Yield Vegetable Gardening in Containers

Sat, June 29, 10am–Noon · Water-Wise Landscape Techniques

Sat, July 27, 10am–Noon · The Herbal Tea Garden

Sat, Aug 31, 5–7pm · How to Preserve Your Garden Vegetables

Sat, Sep 28, 4–6pm · Seed-Saving From Your Home Garden

AGE GROUP: | Tweens | Teens | Seniors | Family | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Workshops | The Plot |

Main Library


Hours
Mon, Jul 08 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Jul 09 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Jul 10 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Jul 11 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Jul 12 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jul 13 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Jul 14 11:00AM to 5:00PM

About the branch

NOTE: The Main Library's Rooftop Terrace is closed for renovations.

Salt Lake City's Main Library, designed by internationally-acclaimed architect Moshe Safdie in conjunction with VCBO Architecture, opened in February 2003 and remains one of the most architecturally unique structures in Utah. This striking 240,000 square-foot structure houses more than 500,000 books and other materials, yet serves as more than just a repository of books and computers. It reflects and engages the city's imagination and aspirations. The structure embraces a public plaza, with shops and services at ground level, reading galleries above, and a 300-seat auditorium.

A multi-level reading area along the Glass Lens at the southern facade of the building looks out onto the plaza with stunning views of the city and Wasatch Mountains beyond. Spiraling fireplaces on four floors resemble a column of flame from the vantage of 200 East and 400 South. The Urban Room between the Library and the Crescent Wall is a space for all seasons, generously endowed with daylight and open to magnificent views.

Upcoming events

Fri, Jul 12, 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Creative Lab
Registration is now closed

Sat, Jul 13, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Sun, Jul 14, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Tue, Jul 16, 10:15am - 10:45am
Story Room

Wed, Jul 17, 10:15am - 10:45am
Story Room

Thu, Jul 18, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Craft Room

Thu, Jul 18, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Thu, Jul 18, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Fri, Jul 19, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Sat, Jul 20, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Conference Room C

Sun, Jul 21, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Auditorium

Sun, Jul 21, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Story Room

Tue, Jul 23, 10:15am - 10:45am
Story Room

Thu, Jul 25, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Thu, Jul 25, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Fri, Jul 26, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Sat, Jul 27, 10:00am - 12:00pm
The Plot Community Garden

Sat, Jul 27, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Conference Room B & C

Sun, Jul 28, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Story Room

Tue, Jul 30, 10:15am - 10:45am
Story Room

Wed, Jul 31, 10:15am - 10:45am
Story Room

Thu, Aug 01, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Fri, Aug 02, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Teen Gallery

Sun, Aug 04, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Story Room

Tue, Aug 06, 10:15am - 10:45am
Story Room

Wed, Aug 07, 10:15am - 10:45am
Story Room

Thu, Aug 08, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Fri, Aug 09, 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Creative Lab

Sat, Aug 10, 10:30am - 12:30pm
Story Room

Sun, Aug 11, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Story Room