close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Manga and Anime Club

2019-01-04 16:00:00 2019-01-04 17:00:00 America/Denver Manga and Anime Club Glendale Branch

Friday, January 04
4:00pm - 5:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-01-04 16:00:00 2019-01-04 17:00:00 America/Denver Manga and Anime Club Every Friday we’ll watch a variety of Anime series, discuss recent Manga reads, play games, create cosplay costumes, and learn more about the Japanese culture that gave rise to these art forms. Glendale Branch

Glendale Branch

Activity Room

Every Friday we’ll watch a variety of Anime series, discuss recent Manga reads, play games, create cosplay costumes, and learn more about the Japanese culture that gave rise to these art forms.

Manga and Anime—Japanese comic books and animation—are more popular than ever in the United States, as seen in the City Library’s ever-growing collection of both. Manga and Anime can cover any genre, from Sci-Fi to Fantasy to Horror to the simple magic of everyday life.

Our weekly Manga and Anime Club is perfect for teens who are long-time fans or just beginning to explore these worlds. Manga and Anime club is an opportunity to meet others to discuss old favorites or discover something new. For teens ages 12–17.

AGE GROUP:   Teens  

EVENT TYPE:   Fun & Games   Cultures & Diversity   Conversations   Books & Reading  

TAGS:   Manga   Book Club   Anime  

Glendale Branch

Phone: 801-594-8660

Hours
We're closed Monday January 21
Mon, Jan 14 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Jan 15 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Jan 16 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Jan 17 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Jan 18 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jan 19 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Jan 20 1:00PM to 5:00PM


About the library

The Glendale Branch of the Salt Lake City Public Library system, designed by Architectural Nexus and opened in February of 2015, offers approximately 20,000 square feet of space, making it the largest City Library branch. The branch houses 40,000 circulating materials, public computers, a lounge area, a green screen room, and a grand piano donated through the Mundi Project.

The floor plan of the branch offers open views across the building while creating designated spaces for children's, teen, and adult Library collections. An enclosed activity room easily accommodates various Library programming, and a designated teen space offers a place for young adults to gather, study, and access Library resources and services.

Built with the Glendale neighborhood in mind, the building shape includes a curved form that reaches out and embraces the community while creating an outdoor plaza. Special colored concrete and landscaped designs represent the geographic area along the Jordan River, while the design scheme of interior signage incorporates colors and forms that represent the many ethnic backgrounds of Glendale neighborhood residents.

The branch is easily accessible to area students, being located just one block from Glendale Middle School, Mountain View Elementary School, and the Salt Lake City School District's Community Learning Center.

The diversity of building materials, finishes, and colors of the Glendale Branch reflect the diversity of the Glendale neighborhood, which is one of the most diverse communities in Salt Lake City.

Upcoming events

Canceled
Sun, Jan 20, 4:30pm - 5:00pm

Study Room 2
Tue, Jan 22, 4:30pm - 6:00pm

Meeting Room B
Wed, Jan 23, 3:30pm - 5:30pm

Activity Room
Wed, Jan 23, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Creative Lab
Wed, Jan 23, 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Activity Room
Thu, Jan 24, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Meeting Room B
Thu, Jan 24, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Activity Room
Fri, Jan 25, 10:15am - 10:45am

Activity Room
Fri, Jan 25, 11:00am - 11:45am

Activity Room
Fri, Jan 25, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Activity Room
Fri, Jan 25, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Activity Room
Mon, Jan 28, 3:30pm - 4:00pm

Activity Room
Mon, Jan 28, 4:30pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room B
Mon, Jan 28, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Creative Lab
Mon, Jan 28, 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Activity Room
Wed, Jan 30, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Creative Lab
Wed, Jan 30, 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Activity Room
Thu, Jan 31, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Study Room 2
Thu, Jan 31, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Activity Room
Fri, Feb 01, 10:15am - 10:45am

Activity Room
Fri, Feb 01, 11:00am - 11:45am

Study Room 1
Fri, Feb 01, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Activity Room
Fri, Feb 01, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Activity Room
Mon, Feb 04, 3:30pm - 4:00pm

Activity Room
Mon, Feb 04, 4:30pm - 5:00pm

Meeting Room B
Mon, Feb 04, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Creative Lab
Mon, Feb 04, 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Study Room 2
Tue, Feb 05, 4:30pm - 6:00pm

Activity Room
Wed, Feb 06, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Creative Lab
Wed, Feb 06, 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Activity Room
Thu, Feb 07, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Activity Room
Fri, Feb 08, 10:15am - 10:45am

Activity Room
Fri, Feb 08, 11:00am - 11:45am

Activity Room
Fri, Feb 08, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Activity Room
Fri, Feb 08, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Sat, Feb 09, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Activity Room
Mon, Feb 11, 3:30pm - 4:00pm

Activity Room
Mon, Feb 11, 4:30pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Feb 11, 4:30pm - 5:30pm

Meeting Room B
Mon, Feb 11, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Creative Lab
Mon, Feb 11, 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Activity Room
Wed, Feb 13, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Creative Lab
Wed, Feb 13, 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Study Room 2
Thu, Feb 14, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Activity Room
Fri, Feb 15, 10:15am - 10:45am

Activity Room
Fri, Feb 15, 11:00am - 11:45am

Fri, Feb 15, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Activity Room
Fri, Feb 15, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Creative Lab
Mon, Feb 18, 6:00pm - 9:00pm