close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Preschool LEAP into Science

2019-01-11 11:00:00 2019-01-11 12:00:00 America/Denver Preschool LEAP into Science Marmalade Branch

Friday, January 11
11:00am - 12:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-01-11 11:00:00 2019-01-11 12:00:00 America/Denver Preschool LEAP into Science Preschool-aged children can begin a lifetime of curiosity and discovery with these monthly, hands-on, inquiry-based science workshops. Marmalade Branch

Preschool-aged children can begin a lifetime of curiosity and discovery with these monthly, hands-on, inquiry-based science workshops.

Held the 2nd Friday of each month. Offered in partnership with the Natural History Museum of Utah and KUED.

Full Schedule

Fri, Oct 12 · Feel the Breeze Learn about air by experiencing its most tangible form — wind! Kids will feel it, make it, and see its effects on other objects. 

Fri, Nov 9 · Drip Drip Drop Drip and pour water using a variety of containers and tools watch it go with the flow.

Fri, Dec 14 · Bright Lights, Dark Shadows Together we’ll use flashlights to discuss light and shadow. Kids will see how light reflects off of shiny things, and how light can be blocked by various objects to make shadows of different shapes and sizes.

Fri, Jan 11 · One Inch at a Time We’ll measure objects using a variety of tools while looking at the relationships between objects of different sizes.

Fri, Feb 8 · Sound is All Around Learn about sound waves through vibrations and play with loud and soft volumes of sounds.

Fri, Mar 8 · Balance it Out Kids will explore balance with their own bodies, and by balancing stuffed animals and other objects on teeter-totters.

Fri, Apr 12 · Feel the Breeze Learn about air by experiencing its most tangible form — wind! Kids will feel it, make it, and see its effects on other objects.  

Fri, May 10 · Drip Drip Drop Drip and pour water using a variety of containers and tools watch it go with the flow.

AGE GROUP:   Preschoolers  

EVENT TYPE:   Workshops   Computers & Technology  

TAGS:    

Marmalade Branch

Phone: 801-594-8680

Hours
We're closed Monday January 21
Mon, Jan 14 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Jan 15 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Jan 16 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Jan 17 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Jan 18 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jan 19 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Jan 20 Closed


About the library

The Salt Lake City Public Library's Marmalade Branch is the anchor of a mixed-use project developed as a key part of the Redevelopment Agency (RDA) of Salt Lake City's master plan for the Marmalade/West Capitol Hill area of the city. The neighborhood serves as a gateway to Salt Lake City from the north, and the Marmalade Branch is both a hub for neighborhood gatherings and an important welcome for visitors, highlighting a focus on development in the area. On-street parking is available on 500 North and 300 West, and UTA routes offer service with stops immediately in front of the Library on 300 West.

The two-story Marmalade Branch, designed by Blalock & Partners Architectural Design Studio and completed in early 2016, provides 18,600 square feet of new construction to support a thriving and growing community. The first floor includes the Moka Cafe, featuring local coffee and chocolate; a Creative Lab with the latest maker technologies like 3D printing and music-making software as well as "old school" tech such as sewing machines and a turntable; a flexible Children's area; and the very popular Music and Movies collection. The second floor includes the Adult collection, study rooms for a range of group sizes, and a large, flexible multi-purpose room with tiered seating to allow for a wide variety of events. The multi-purpose room has already been very popular with the community, hosting community feedback sessions, film screenings, TEDx events, music recitals, and the highly-popular Coffee and Chocolate Society. The second floor also features a wrap-around terrace offering views of the Capitol Building to the east, Salt Lake City's picturesque skyline and landscape to the south and, to the north, views to a public plaza and open green space as part of a new mixed-use development.

The project utilizes an exterior shading device along the west-facing glass to minimize solar heat gain yet still promote a dynamic interaction with the street and passersby. Its compact footprint reduces land use and allows for a high-performance building envelope. The use of LED lights, lighting control systems, occupancy sensors, and daylight harvesting reduce the amount of electrical energy consumption while the flood of natural light creates an inviting interior environment for patrons and an efficient, balanced workplace for staff. In honor of these sustainability features, the Marmalade Branch was awarded the LEED Silver certification from the US Green Building Council (USGBC).

Upcoming events

Conference Room
Sat, Jan 19, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Multi-Purpose Room
Sat, Jan 19, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Multi-Purpose Room
Tue, Jan 22, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Multi-Purpose Room
Wed, Jan 23, 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Multi-Purpose Room
Thu, Jan 24, 10:15am - 10:45am

Multi-Purpose Room
Thu, Jan 24, 11:00am - 11:30am

Children's Area
Thu, Jan 24, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Thu, Jan 24, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Multi-Purpose Room
Thu, Jan 24, 6:30pm - 8:00pm

Multi-Purpose Room
Fri, Jan 25, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Conference Room
Sat, Jan 26, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Conference Room
Mon, Jan 28, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Tue, Jan 29, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Multi-Purpose Room
Wed, Jan 30, 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Multi-Purpose Room
Thu, Jan 31, 10:15am - 10:45am

Multi-Purpose Room
Thu, Jan 31, 11:00am - 11:30am

Children's Area
Thu, Jan 31, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Thu, Jan 31, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Conference Room
Sat, Feb 02, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Mon, Feb 04, 3:30pm - 4:30pm

Conference Room
Mon, Feb 04, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Multi-Purpose Room
Wed, Feb 06, 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Multi-Purpose Room
Wed, Feb 06, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Multi-Purpose Room
Thu, Feb 07, 10:15am - 10:45am

Multi-Purpose Room
Thu, Feb 07, 11:00am - 11:30am

Creative Lab
Thu, Feb 07, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Children's Area
Thu, Feb 07, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Multi-Purpose Room
Thu, Feb 07, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Fri, Feb 08, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Conference Room
Sat, Feb 09, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Conference Room
Mon, Feb 11, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Mon, Feb 11, 4:30pm - 5:30pm

Tue, Feb 12, 3:30pm - 4:30pm

Multi-Purpose Room
Wed, Feb 13, 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Multi-Purpose Room
Thu, Feb 14, 10:15am - 10:45am

Multi-Purpose Room
Thu, Feb 14, 11:00am - 11:30am

Creative Lab
Thu, Feb 14, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Children's Area
Thu, Feb 14, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Multi-Purpose Room
Thu, Feb 14, 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Fri, Feb 15, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Conference Room
Sat, Feb 16, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Sat, Feb 16, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Conference Room
Mon, Feb 18, 4:00pm - 5:30pm