close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Watercolor Wildlife: An Artist's Tail

Art Reception

2019-03-16 16:00:00 2019-03-16 17:30:00 America/Denver Watercolor Wildlife: An Artist's Tail Sweet Branch

Saturday, March 16
4:00pm - 5:30pm

Add to Calendar 2019-03-16 16:00:00 2019-03-16 17:30:00 America/Denver Watercolor Wildlife: An Artist's Tail Paintings by Valkyrie Johnson Exhibit runs from Mar 11- Apr 27 Sweet Branch

Sweet Branch

Meeting Room

Paintings by Valkyrie Johnson Exhibit runs from Mar 11- Apr 27

ARTIST STATEMENT

I firmly believe that you have to make time for art. Between project deadlines and social commitments and daily chores, it's easier to sit down on the couch at the end of the day and watch a show than it is to pick up a brush and paint something.With the limited amount of time between getting home in the evening and falling into bed, I choose to work mainly with watercolor because you have to work quickly. Once the brush has touched the paper, there's no going back, there's no covering it up with another color or getting the white back if you paint over it. The speed of this medium allows me to fit a little bit of art into my schedule every day.There is something so important about the act of creating that makes every other aspect of our lives shine brighter. All it takes is one brush stroke on a canvas, one sentence in a story, one step in a dance. It doesn't have to be perfect, you just have to do it and each time it gets easier.

ARTIST BIO

Valkyrie Johnson is a professional web designer with a lifelong love of creating. Her mantra has always been, "I can make that!" Wanting to renew and improve her art skills in an increasingly busy schedule, she made a commitment in January 2015 to draw, paint, or create something every day and she has stayed true to that commitment, without fail, for over four years. Her artistic creations have ranged across a variety of media including charcoal, markers, colored pencils, paper collage, and digital art but she always finds herself drawn back to watercolor. Looking forward, Valkyrie would love to illustrate children's books and instill a love of art into future generations.

AGE GROUP:   All Ages  

EVENT TYPE:   Arts & Creativity  

TAGS:   Art Reception  

Sweet Branch

Phone: 801-594-8651

Hours
Mon, Jun 17 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Jun 18 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Jun 19 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Jun 20 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Jun 21 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jun 22 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Jun 23 Closed


About the library

The Sweet Branch is the sister branch of the Anderson-Foothill Branch using the same modular design. The branch contains over 8,000 square feet of service space, including a public meeting room that can be used for a variety of community gathering needs, from community council meetings to music performances to neighborhood celebrations. Free parking is available to the north of the building, and free wi-fi access is provided throughout the library.

Upcoming events

Mon, Jun 17, 2:00pm - 2:30pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Jun 18, 10:00am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Tue, Jun 18, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Jun 19, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Wed, Jun 19, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room

Thu, Jun 20, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Mon, Jun 24, 2:30pm - 3:30pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Jun 25, 10:00am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Tue, Jun 25, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Jun 26, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Wed, Jun 26, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room

Thu, Jun 27, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Thu, Jun 27, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room

Fri, Jun 28, 10:30am - 11:30am
Meeting Room

Fri, Jun 28, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room

Mon, Jul 01, 11:30am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Jul 02, 10:00am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Tue, Jul 02, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Jul 03, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Wed, Jul 03, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room

Sat, Jul 06, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Jul 09, 10:00am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Tue, Jul 09, 1:00pm - 2:30pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Jul 09, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Jul 10, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Wed, Jul 10, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room

Thu, Jul 11, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Thu, Jul 11, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Meeting Room

Fri, Jul 12, 10:30am - 11:30am
Meeting Room

Sat, Jul 13, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Jul 16, 10:00am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Tue, Jul 16, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Jul 17, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Wed, Jul 17, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room