close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Match: Igniting Creativity through Art & Literature

2019-07-03 18:30:00 2019-07-03 19:30:00 America/Denver Match: Igniting Creativity through Art & Literature OFFSITE: Utah Museum of Fine Arts

Wednesday, July 03
6:30pm - 7:30pm

Add to Calendar 2019-07-03 18:30:00 2019-07-03 19:30:00 America/Denver Match: Igniting Creativity through Art & Literature Ignite your creativity through Match, a new monthly series art adventures at the Utah Museum of Fine Arts. Each month, activities and discussion are based around a different book. OFFSITE: Utah Museum of Fine Arts

Ignite your creativity through Match, a new monthly series art adventures at the Utah Museum of Fine Arts. Each month, activities and discussion are based around a different book.

Through micro-conversations and in-gallery activities, this partnership between the Salt Lake City Public Library and the UMFA will get you thinking creatively in words, images, or whatever form inspires you.

SCHEDULE
Wednesday, July 3 · The Improbability of Love by Hannah Rothschild

BookPage calls it, “A blistering, uninhibited and hilarious satire of the London art scene . . . The writing is so good, interweaving a complex set of love stories of different kinds: romantic love, filial love, love of art.”

Wednesday, August 7 · Code Girls: The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II by Liza Mundy

Recruited by the U.S. Army and Navy from small towns and elite colleges, more than ten thousand women served as codebreakers during World War II. While their brothers and boyfriends took up arms, these women moved to Washington and learned the meticulous work of code-breaking. Their efforts shortened the war, saved countless lives, and gave them access to careers previously denied to them.

Wednesday, September 4 · Broken Places & Outer Spaces: Finding Creativity in the Unexpected by Nnedi Okorafor

A guidebook for anyone eager to understand how their limitations might actually be used as a creative springboard, Broken Places & Outer Spaces is an inspiring look at how to open up new windows in your mind.

Wednesday, October 2 · Smoke Gets in Your Eyes: And Other Lessons from the Crematory by Caitlin Doughty

Armed with a degree in medieval history and a flair for the macabre, Caitlin Doughty took a job at a crematory and turned morbid curiosity into her life’s work. She cared for bodies of every color, shape, and affliction, and became an intrepid explorer in the world of the dead.


Wednesday, November 6 · TBA

Wednesday, December 4 · The Glass of Fashion by Cecil Beaton

Peppered with Beaton's drawing, the Glass of Fashion draws you back into a time of over-the-top hats and amazing costumes. Gossipy and rich, Beaton's descriptions from a swiftly changing fashion world, combined with his flamboyant life, make his memoir a colorful work of art.


 
 

AGE GROUP:   Teens   Seniors   Adults  

EVENT TYPE:   Workshops   Books & Reading   Arts & Creativity  

TAGS:    

Main Library

Phone: 801-524-8200

Hours
Mon, Nov 18 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Nov 19 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Nov 20 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Nov 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Nov 22 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Nov 23 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Nov 24 1:00PM to 5:00PM


About the library

Salt Lake City's Main Library, designed by internationally-acclaimed architect Moshe Safdie in conjunction with VCBO Architecture, opened in February 2003 and remains one of the most architecturally unique structures in Utah. This striking 240,000 square-foot structure houses more than 500,000 books and other materials, yet serves as more than just a repository of books and computers. It reflects and engages the city's imagination and aspirations. A six-story curving, walkable wall embraces the public plaza, with shops and services at ground level, reading galleries above, and a 300-seat auditorium. A multi-level reading area along the Glass Lens at the southern facade of the building looks out onto the plaza with stunning views of the city and Wasatch Mountains beyond. The Rooftop Terrace, accessible by walking the Crescent Wall or the elevators, offers a 360-degree view of the Salt Lake Valley. Spiraling fireplaces on four floors resemble a column of flame from the vantage of 200 East and 400 South. The Urban Room between the Library and the Crescent Wall is a space for all seasons, generously endowed with daylight and open to magnificent views.

Upcoming events

Tue, Nov 19, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Nov 19, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Nov 19, 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Nov 19, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Auditorium

Wed, Nov 20, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Nov 20, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Conference Room B

Wed, Nov 20, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Wed, Nov 20, 5:00pm - 8:00pm
Computer Lab

Wed, Nov 20, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Lower Urban Room

Thu, Nov 21, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Fri, Nov 22, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Nov 22, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Fri, Nov 22, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Canteena Gallery

Sat, Nov 23, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
Urban Room

Sat, Nov 23, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Craft Room

Sat, Nov 23, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Mon, Nov 25, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
SHARE Space

Tue, Nov 26, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Wed, Nov 27, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Fri, Nov 29, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Dec 02, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Tue, Dec 03, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Dec 03, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Wed, Dec 04, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Dec 04, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Conference Room B

Wed, Dec 04, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
OFFSITE: Utah Museum of Fine Arts

Thu, Dec 05, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Thu, Dec 05, 10:30am - 2:30pm
Level 3 Conference Room

Thu, Dec 05, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Fri, Dec 06, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Dec 06, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Fri, Dec 06, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Creative Lab Audio Station
Registration opens Friday, November 22 2019 at 9:00am

Sat, Dec 07, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Story Room

Sat, Dec 07, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Canteena

Sat, Dec 07, 2:00pm - 5:00pm

Sat, Dec 07, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Saturday, December 7 2019 at 9:00am

Mon, Dec 09, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
SHARE Space

Mon, Dec 09, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Dec 10, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Dec 10, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Wed, Dec 11, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Thu, Dec 12, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Fri, Dec 13, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Dec 13, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Sat, Dec 14, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Story Room

Sat, Dec 14, 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Shops at Library Square - Art at the Main

Sat, Dec 14, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Canteena

Sat, Dec 14, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Saturday, November 30 2019 at 9:00am

Sun, Dec 15, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Auditorium

Mon, Dec 16, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Mon, Dec 16, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Computer Lab
Registration opens Monday, December 2 2019 at 9:00am

Tue, Dec 17, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Dec 17, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Wed, Dec 18, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Dec 18, 10:00am - 10:30am

Wed, Dec 18, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Computer Lab
Registration opens Wednesday, December 4 2019 at 9:00am

Wed, Dec 18, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Conference Room B

Wed, Dec 18, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Fireplace Level 2

Thu, Dec 19, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Thu, Dec 19, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Thursday, December 5 2019 at 9:00am