close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Match: Igniting Creativity through Art & Literature

2019-09-04 19:00:00 2019-09-04 20:00:00 America/Denver Match: Igniting Creativity through Art & Literature Utah Museum of Fine Arts

Wednesday, September 04
7:00pm - 8:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-09-04 19:00:00 2019-09-04 20:00:00 America/Denver Match: Igniting Creativity through Art & Literature Ignite your creativity through Match, a new monthly series art adventures at the Utah Museum of Fine Arts. Each month, activities and discussion are based around a different book. Utah Museum of Fine Arts

Ignite your creativity through Match, a new monthly series art adventures at the Utah Museum of Fine Arts. Each month, activities and discussion are based around a different book.

Through micro-conversations and in-gallery activities, this partnership between the Salt Lake City Public Library and the UMFA will get you thinking creatively in words, images, or whatever form inspires you.

SCHEDULE
Wednesday, July 3 · The Improbability of Love by Hannah Rothschild

BookPage calls it, “A blistering, uninhibited and hilarious satire of the London art scene . . . The writing is so good, interweaving a complex set of love stories of different kinds: romantic love, filial love, love of art.”

Wednesday, August 7 · Code Girls: The Untold Story of the American Women Code Breakers of World War II by Liza Mundy

Recruited by the U.S. Army and Navy from small towns and elite colleges, more than ten thousand women served as codebreakers during World War II. While their brothers and boyfriends took up arms, these women moved to Washington and learned the meticulous work of code-breaking. Their efforts shortened the war, saved countless lives, and gave them access to careers previously denied to them.

Wednesday, September 4 · Broken Places & Outer Spaces: Finding Creativity in the Unexpected by Nnedi Okorafor

A guidebook for anyone eager to understand how their limitations might actually be used as a creative springboard, Broken Places & Outer Spaces is an inspiring look at how to open up new windows in your mind.

Wednesday, October 2 · Smoke Gets in Your Eyes: And Other Lessons from the Crematory by Caitlin Doughty

Armed with a degree in medieval history and a flair for the macabre, Caitlin Doughty took a job at a crematory and turned morbid curiosity into her life’s work. She cared for bodies of every color, shape, and affliction, and became an intrepid explorer in the world of the dead.


Wednesday, November 6 · TBA

Wednesday, December 4 · The Glass of Fashion by Cecil Beaton

Peppered with Beaton's drawing, the Glass of Fashion draws you back into a time of over-the-top hats and amazing costumes. Gossipy and rich, Beaton's descriptions from a swiftly changing fashion world, combined with his flamboyant life, make his memoir a colorful work of art.


 
 

AGE GROUP:   Teens   Seniors   Adults  

EVENT TYPE:   Workshops   Books & Reading   Arts & Creativity  

TAGS:    

Main Library

Phone: 801-524-8200

Hours
Mon, Oct 14 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Oct 15 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Oct 16 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Oct 17 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Oct 18 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Oct 19 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Oct 20 1:00PM to 5:00PM


About the library

Salt Lake City's Main Library, designed by internationally-acclaimed architect Moshe Safdie in conjunction with VCBO Architecture, opened in February 2003 and remains one of the most architecturally unique structures in Utah. This striking 240,000 square-foot structure houses more than 500,000 books and other materials, yet serves as more than just a repository of books and computers. It reflects and engages the city's imagination and aspirations. A six-story curving, walkable wall embraces the public plaza, with shops and services at ground level, reading galleries above, and a 300-seat auditorium. A multi-level reading area along the Glass Lens at the southern facade of the building looks out onto the plaza with stunning views of the city and Wasatch Mountains beyond. The Rooftop Terrace, accessible by walking the Crescent Wall or the elevators, offers a 360-degree view of the Salt Lake Valley. Spiraling fireplaces on four floors resemble a column of flame from the vantage of 200 East and 400 South. The Urban Room between the Library and the Crescent Wall is a space for all seasons, generously endowed with daylight and open to magnificent views.

Upcoming events

Sun, Oct 20, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Auditorium

Mon, Oct 21, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Tue, Oct 22, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Oct 22, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Oct 22, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Oct 22, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Tue, Oct 22, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Oct 22, 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Oct 22, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Auditorium

Wed, Oct 23, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Oct 23, 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Computer Lab

Wed, Oct 23, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Wed, Oct 23, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Fireplace Level 2

Thu, Oct 24, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Fri, Oct 25, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Oct 25, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Fri, Oct 25, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Fri, Oct 25, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Canteena Gallery

Sat, Oct 26, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Craft Room

Sat, Oct 26, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Canceled
Sat, Oct 26, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Oct 28, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Computer Lab

Mon, Oct 28, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
SHARE Space

Tue, Oct 29, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Oct 29, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Oct 29, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Oct 29, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Oct 29, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Tue, Oct 29, 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Creative Lab
This event is full

Tue, Oct 29, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Auditorium

Wed, Oct 30, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Oct 30, 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Computer Lab

Wed, Oct 30, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Thu, Oct 31, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Fri, Nov 01, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Nov 01, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Sat, Nov 02, 9:00am - 1:00pm
Urban Room

Sat, Nov 02, 11:00am - 12:30pm
Auditorium

Sat, Nov 02, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Story Room

Sat, Nov 02, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Canteena

Mon, Nov 04, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Mon, Nov 04, 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Computer Lab
Registration opens Monday, October 21 2019 at 9:00am

Tue, Nov 05, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Nov 05, 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Computer Lab
Registration opens Tuesday, October 22 2019 at 9:00am

Tue, Nov 05, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Nov 05, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Nov 05, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Nov 05, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Tue, Nov 05, 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Monday, October 21 2019 at 9:00am

Tue, Nov 05, 5:00pm - 8:00pm
Canteena

Tue, Nov 05, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Children's Gallery

Tue, Nov 05, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Lower Urban Room

Wed, Nov 06, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Nov 06, 12:00pm - 1:30pm
Creative Lab

Wed, Nov 06, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Urban Room

Wed, Nov 06, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Conference Room B

Wed, Nov 06, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Wed, Nov 06, 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Wednesday, October 23 2019 at 9:00am

Wed, Nov 06, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Canteena Gallery

Wed, Nov 06, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
OFFSITE: Utah Museum of Fine Arts

Thu, Nov 07, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Thu, Nov 07, 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Level 3 Conference Room

Thu, Nov 07, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Creative Lab

Thu, Nov 07, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Fri, Nov 08, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Nov 08, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Fri, Nov 08, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Canteena

Sat, Nov 09, 11:00am - 1:00pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Sat, Nov 09, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Story Room

Sat, Nov 09, 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Conference Room B & C

Sat, Nov 09, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Canteena

Sat, Nov 09, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Level 4 Conference Room

Tue, Nov 12, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Nov 12, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Nov 12, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Nov 12, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Nov 12, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Tue, Nov 12, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Tuesday, October 29 2019 at 9:00am

Wed, Nov 13, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Nov 13, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Wed, Nov 13, 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Wednesday, October 23 2019 at 9:00am

Wed, Nov 13, 5:00pm - 8:00pm
Computer Lab
Registration opens Wednesday, October 30 2019 at 9:00am

Thu, Nov 14, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Fri, Nov 15, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Nov 15, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Sat, Nov 16, 1:00pm - 2:00pm

Sat, Nov 16, 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Shops at Library Square - Art at the Main

Sat, Nov 16, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Canteena

Sat, Nov 16, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
The Gallery at Library Square

Sat, Nov 16, 4:00pm - 5:30pm

Sun, Nov 17, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Auditorium

Mon, Nov 18, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Tue, Nov 19, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Nov 19, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Nov 19, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Tue, Nov 19, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Nov 19, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Nov 19, 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Tuesday, November 5 2019 at 9:00am

Tue, Nov 19, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Auditorium