close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Utah Film Center presents: Prospect

2019-02-12 19:00:00 2019-02-12 21:00:00 America/Denver Utah Film Center presents: Prospect Main Library

Tuesday, February 12
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-02-12 19:00:00 2019-02-12 21:00:00 America/Denver Utah Film Center presents: Prospect Film Screening with the Utah Film Center Main Library

Main Library

Auditorium

Film Screening with the Utah Film Center

Prospect
Directed by Zeek Earl & Christopher Caldwell
97 min | 2018 | USA | R
Cast: Sophie Thatcher, Pedro Pascal, & Jay Duplass

In this indie space western, a teenage girl and her father travel to a remote alien moon, aiming to strike it rich. They’ve secured a contract to harvest a large deposit of the elusive gems hidden in the depths of the moon’s toxic forest. But there are others roving the wilderness and the job quickly devolves into a fight to survive. Forced to contend not only with the forest’s other ruthless inhabitants, but with her own father’s greed-addled judgment, the girl finds she must carve her own path to escape.

Winner: Adam Yauch Hörnblowér Award–2018 SXSW, Best First Feature (Archie Award) and Best Narrative Feature (Jury Award)–2018 Philadelphia Film Festival 

AGE GROUP:   Adults  

EVENT TYPE:   Performances & Presentations   Movies  

TAGS:   Utah Film Center  

Main Library

Phone: 801-524-8200

Hours
Mon, Aug 12 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Aug 13 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Aug 14 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Aug 15 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Aug 16 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Aug 17 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Aug 18 1:00PM to 5:00PM


About the library

Salt Lake City's Main Library, designed by internationally-acclaimed architect Moshe Safdie (see related titles in our catalog) in conjunction with VCBO Architecture, opened in February 2003 and remains one of the most architecturally unique structures in Utah. This striking 240,000 square-foot structure houses more than 500,000 books and other materials, yet serves as more than just a repository of books and computers. It reflects and engages the city's imagination and aspirations. The six-story curving, walkable wall embraces the public plaza, with shops and services at ground level, reading galleries above, and a 300-seat auditorium. A multi-level reading area along the glass lens at the southern facade of the building looks out onto the plaza with stunning views of the city and Wasatch Mountains beyond. A roof-top garden, accessible by walking the crescent wall or the elevators, offers a 360 degree view of the Salt Lake Valley. Spiraling fireplaces on four floors resemble a column of flame from the vantage of 200 East and 400 South. The Urban Room between the library and the crescent wall is a space for all seasons, generously endowed with daylight and open to magnificent views.

Upcoming events

Sun, Aug 18, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Auditorium

Mon, Aug 19, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Computer Lab

Mon, Aug 19, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Tue, Aug 20, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Aug 20, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Aug 20, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Tue, Aug 20, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Creative Lab

Wed, Aug 21, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Aug 21, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Level 4 Conference Room

Thu, Aug 22, 9:30am - 10:45am
Level 4 Conference Room

Thu, Aug 22, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Thu, Aug 22, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
The Plot Community Garden

Fri, Aug 23, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Aug 23, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Computer Lab

Fri, Aug 23, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Fri, Aug 23, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Sat, Aug 24, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Craft Room

Sat, Aug 24, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Mon, Aug 26, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Computer Lab

Tue, Aug 27, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Aug 27, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Aug 27, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Tue, Aug 27, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
The Plot Community Garden

Tue, Aug 27, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Rooftop Terrace

Wed, Aug 28, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Aug 28, 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Rooftop Terrace

Thu, Aug 29, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Thu, Aug 29, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
The Plot Community Garden

Thu, Aug 29, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Fireplace Level 4

Fri, Aug 30, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Aug 30, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Fri, Aug 30, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Sep 03, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Sep 03, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Sep 03, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Tue, Sep 03, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Tuesday, August 20 2019 at 9:00am

Wed, Sep 04, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Sep 04, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Conference Room B

Wed, Sep 04, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Creative Lab

Wed, Sep 04, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Children's Gallery

Wed, Sep 04, 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Rooftop Terrace

Thu, Sep 05, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Thu, Sep 05, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
The Plot Community Garden

Thu, Sep 05, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Thu, Sep 05, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Fri, Sep 06, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Sep 06, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Friday, August 23 2019 at 9:00am

Fri, Sep 06, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Fri, Sep 06, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Sat, Sep 07, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Story Room

Sat, Sep 07, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Canteena

Sat, Sep 07, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Auditorium

Mon, Sep 09, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Mon, Sep 09, 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Auditorium

Tue, Sep 10, 9:00am - 4:00pm

Tue, Sep 10, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Sep 10, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Sep 10, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Wed, Sep 11, 9:00am - 4:00pm

Wed, Sep 11, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Sep 11, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Wednesday, August 28 2019 at 9:00am

Wed, Sep 11, 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Rooftop Terrace

Thu, Sep 12, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Thu, Sep 12, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
The Plot Community Garden

Thu, Sep 12, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Thursday, August 29 2019 at 9:00am

Fri, Sep 13, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Sep 13, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Friday, August 30 2019 at 9:00am

Fri, Sep 13, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Fri, Sep 13, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Fri, Sep 13, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
OFFSITE: The Leonardo

Sat, Sep 14, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Story Room

Sat, Sep 14, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Canteena

Sat, Sep 14, 3:30pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Sep 16, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Mon, Sep 16, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Mon, Sep 16, 5:30pm - 7:30pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Monday, September 2 2019 at 9:00am