close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Teen DIY

2019-05-09 15:00:00 2019-05-09 17:00:00 America/Denver Teen DIY Marmalade Branch

Thursday, May 09
3:00pm - 5:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-05-09 15:00:00 2019-05-09 17:00:00 America/Denver Teen DIY Work out your creative muscles, learn new skills, and make something that's all your own! For tweens and teens ages 10–17. Marmalade Branch

Marmalade Branch

Creative Lab

Work out your creative muscles, learn new skills, and make something that's all your own! For tweens and teens ages 10–17.

Thu, May 2 · Mosaics
Thu, May 9 · Perler Beads
Thu, May 16 · Duct Tape Wallets
Thu, May 23 · Origami
Thu, May 30 · Tie Dye (Please bring your own cotton t-shirt)

AGE GROUP:   Tweens   Teens  

EVENT TYPE:   Arts & Creativity  

TAGS:   arttherapy   Arts and crafts   art project  

Marmalade Branch

Phone: 801-594-8680

Hours
Mon, Aug 19 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Aug 20 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Aug 21 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Aug 22 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Aug 23 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Aug 24 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Aug 25 Closed


About the library

The Salt Lake City Public Library's Marmalade Branch is the anchor of a mixed-use project developed as a key part of the Redevelopment Agency (RDA) of Salt Lake City's master plan for the Marmalade/West Capitol Hill area of the city. The neighborhood serves as a gateway to Salt Lake City from the north, and the Marmalade Branch is both a hub for neighborhood gatherings and an important welcome for visitors, highlighting a focus on development in the area. On-street parking is available on 500 North and 300 West, and UTA routes offer service with stops immediately in front of the Library on 300 West.

The two-story Marmalade Branch, designed by Blalock & Partners Architectural Design Studio and completed in early 2016, provides 18,600 square feet of new construction to support a thriving and growing community. The first floor includes the Moka Cafe, featuring local coffee and chocolate; a Creative Lab with the latest maker technologies like 3D printing and music-making software as well as "old school" tech such as sewing machines and a turntable; a flexible Children's area; and the very popular Music and Movies collection. The second floor includes the Adult collection, study rooms for a range of group sizes, and a large, flexible multi-purpose room with tiered seating to allow for a wide variety of events. The multi-purpose room has already been very popular with the community, hosting community feedback sessions, film screenings, TEDx events, music recitals, and the highly-popular Coffee and Chocolate Society. The second floor also features a wrap-around terrace offering views of the Capitol Building to the east, Salt Lake City's picturesque skyline and landscape to the south and, to the north, views to a public plaza and open green space as part of a new mixed-use development.

The project utilizes an exterior shading device along the west-facing glass to minimize solar heat gain yet still promote a dynamic interaction with the street and passersby. Its compact footprint reduces land use and allows for a high-performance building envelope. The use of LED lights, lighting control systems, occupancy sensors, and daylight harvesting reduce the amount of electrical energy consumption while the flood of natural light creates an inviting interior environment for patrons and an efficient, balanced workplace for staff. In honor of these sustainability features, the Marmalade Branch was awarded the LEED Silver certification from the US Green Building Council (USGBC).

Upcoming events

Mon, Aug 26, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Mon, Aug 26, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Conference Room

Tue, Aug 27, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Aug 27, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room
This event is full

Wed, Aug 28, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Wed, Aug 28, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Conference Room
This event is full

Thu, Aug 29, 10:15am - 10:45am
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, Aug 29, 11:00am - 11:30am
Multi-Purpose Room

Fri, Aug 30, 3:30pm - 5:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Mon, Sep 02, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Conference Room

Tue, Sep 03, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Children's Area

Tue, Sep 03, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Wed, Sep 04, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Wed, Sep 04, 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Wed, Sep 04, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, Sep 05, 10:15am - 10:45am
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, Sep 05, 11:00am - 11:30am
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, Sep 05, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Children's Area

Thu, Sep 05, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Fri, Sep 06, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Fri, Sep 06, 3:30pm - 5:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Sat, Sep 07, 3:30pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Sep 09, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Mon, Sep 09, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Conference Room

Tue, Sep 10, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Sep 10, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Tue, Sep 10, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room
This event is full

Wed, Sep 11, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Thu, Sep 12, 10:15am - 10:45am
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, Sep 12, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Thu, Sep 12, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Thu, Sep 12, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Children's Area

Thu, Sep 12, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Fri, Sep 13, 3:30pm - 5:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Sat, Sep 14, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Outdoor Plaza

Sat, Sep 14, 1:00pm - 3:30pm

Mon, Sep 16, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Mon, Sep 16, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Conference Room

Mon, Sep 16, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Conference Room

Tue, Sep 17, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Wed, Sep 18, 2:45pm - 4:30pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Wed, Sep 18, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Wed, Sep 18, 3:00pm - 4:30pm

Thu, Sep 19, 10:15am - 10:45am
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, Sep 19, 11:00am - 11:30am
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, Sep 19, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Children's Area

Thu, Sep 19, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Outdoor Plaza

Fri, Sep 20, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Fri, Sep 20, 3:30pm - 5:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Sat, Sep 21, 11:00am - 11:45am
Creative Lab

Sat, Sep 21, 1:00pm - 3:00pm

Sat, Sep 21, 2:00pm - 4:30pm

Mon, Sep 23, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Mon, Sep 23, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Conference Room