close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Teen DIY

Crafts

2019-07-11 15:00:00 2019-07-11 17:00:00 America/Denver Teen DIY Marmalade Branch

Thursday, July 11
3:00pm - 5:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-07-11 15:00:00 2019-07-11 17:00:00 America/Denver Teen DIY Work out your creative muscles, learn new skills, and make something that's all your own! For tweens and teens ages 10–17. Marmalade Branch

Marmalade Branch

Multi-Purpose Room

Work out your creative muscles, learn new skills, and make something that's all your own! For tweens and teens ages 10–17.

Thu, Jun 6 · Galaxy Dough
Thu, Jun 13 · Space-themed pinback buttons
Thu, Jun 20 · Galaxy Cookies
Thu, Jun 27 · Constellation Jar

Thu, Jul 11 · Alien Slime
Thu, Jul 18 · Perler Beads (Space patterns)
Thu, Jul 25 · Magnetic Slime

AGE GROUP:   Tweens   Teens  

EVENT TYPE:   Arts & Creativity  

TAGS:   arttherapy   Arts and crafts   art project  

Marmalade Branch

Phone: 801-594-8680

Hours
Mon, Nov 11 Closed
Tue, Nov 12 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Nov 13 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Nov 14 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Nov 15 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Nov 16 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Nov 17 Closed


About the library

The Salt Lake City Public Library's Marmalade Branch is the anchor of a mixed-use project developed as a key part of the Redevelopment Agency (RDA) of Salt Lake City's master plan for the Marmalade/West Capitol Hill area of the city. The neighborhood serves as a gateway to Salt Lake City from the north, and the Marmalade Branch is both a hub for neighborhood gatherings and an important welcome for visitors, highlighting a focus on development in the area. On-street parking is available on 500 North and 300 West, and UTA routes offer service with stops immediately in front of the Library on 300 West.

The two-story Marmalade Branch, designed by Blalock & Partners Architectural Design Studio and completed in early 2016, provides 18,600 square feet of new construction to support a thriving and growing community. The first floor includes the Moka Cafe, featuring local coffee and chocolate; a Creative Lab with the latest maker technologies like 3D printing and music-making software as well as "old school" tech such as sewing machines and a turntable; a flexible Children's area; and the very popular Music and Movies collection. The second floor includes the Adult collection, study rooms for a range of group sizes, and a large, flexible multi-purpose room with tiered seating to allow for a wide variety of events. The multi-purpose room has already been very popular with the community, hosting community feedback sessions, film screenings, TEDx events, music recitals, and the highly-popular Coffee and Chocolate Society. The second floor also features a wrap-around terrace offering views of the Capitol Building to the east, Salt Lake City's picturesque skyline and landscape to the south and, to the north, views to a public plaza and open green space as part of a new mixed-use development.

The project utilizes an exterior shading device along the west-facing glass to minimize solar heat gain yet still promote a dynamic interaction with the street and passersby. Its compact footprint reduces land use and allows for a high-performance building envelope. The use of LED lights, lighting control systems, occupancy sensors, and daylight harvesting reduce the amount of electrical energy consumption while the flood of natural light creates an inviting interior environment for patrons and an efficient, balanced workplace for staff. In honor of these sustainability features, the Marmalade Branch was awarded the LEED Silver certification from the US Green Building Council (USGBC).

Upcoming events

Fri, Nov 15, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Fri, Nov 15, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Sat, Nov 16, 11:00am - 12:30pm
Creative Lab

Sat, Nov 16, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Conference Room

Mon, Nov 18, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Creative Lab

Mon, Nov 18, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Conference Room

Tue, Nov 19, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Nov 19, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Nov 19, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Wed, Nov 20, 2:45pm - 4:30pm
Conference Room

Wed, Nov 20, 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, Nov 21, 10:15am - 10:45am
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, Nov 21, 11:00am - 11:30am
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, Nov 21, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Children's Area

Fri, Nov 22, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Fri, Nov 22, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Sat, Nov 23, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Conference Room

Mon, Nov 25, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Nov 26, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Nov 26, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Wed, Nov 27, 2:45pm - 4:30pm
Conference Room

Wed, Nov 27, 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Sat, Nov 30, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Conference Room

Mon, Dec 02, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Dec 03, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Children's Area

Tue, Dec 03, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Dec 03, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Dec 03, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Wed, Dec 04, 2:45pm - 4:30pm
Conference Room

Canceled
Wed, Dec 04, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Wed, Dec 04, 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Thu, Dec 05, 10:15am - 10:45am
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, Dec 05, 11:00am - 11:30am
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, Dec 05, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Children's Area

Thu, Dec 05, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Fri, Dec 06, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Fri, Dec 06, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Sat, Dec 07, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Sat, Dec 07, 6:00pm - 9:00pm

Mon, Dec 09, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Dec 10, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Dec 10, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Tue, Dec 10, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Wed, Dec 11, 2:45pm - 4:30pm
Conference Room

Wed, Dec 11, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, Dec 12, 10:15am - 10:45am
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, Dec 12, 11:00am - 11:30am
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, Dec 12, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Children's Area

Thu, Dec 12, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Fri, Dec 13, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Fri, Dec 13, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Sat, Dec 14, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room