close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

SLC Ballet presents

Excerpts from the Sleeping Beauty

2019-06-15 14:00:00 2019-06-15 15:00:00 America/Denver SLC Ballet presents Main Library 210 East 400 South Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Saturday, June 15
2:00pm - 3:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-06-15 14:00:00 2019-06-15 15:00:00 America/Denver SLC Ballet presents SLC Ballet will perform excerpts from Tchaikovsky's classical ballet The Sleeping Beauty. Princess Aurora, Puss in Boots, Little Red Riding Hood, and the Six Fairies will all join in on the fun! Main Library 210 East 400 South Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Main Library

Auditorium

SLC Ballet will perform excerpts from Tchaikovsky's classical ballet The Sleeping Beauty. Princess Aurora, Puss in Boots, Little Red Riding Hood, and the Six Fairies will all join in on the fun!

King Florestan and the Queen invite you to join Princess Aurora and Prince Desire in celebrating their royal wedding. As the Garland Waltz opens the festivities, we are entertained by the Jewels and then by many fairy tale characters -- Puss-in-Boots and the White Cat, Princess Florine and the Bluebird, Little Red Riding Hood and the Wolf, Thumbelina and the Ogre -- who present their stories as gifts to the royal couple. Also in attendance, the Lilac Fairy, who blesses the proceedings, and her suite of fairies who present their own individual gifts. Following these gifts, Princess Aurora and Prince Desire dance a joyous, grande pas de deux. All the guests rejoice the wedding as the royal couple express their gratitude to the Lilac Fairy for her blessings.

Main Library


Hours
Mon, Aug 10 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Aug 11 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Aug 12 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Aug 13 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Aug 14 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Aug 15 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Aug 16 1:00PM to 5:00PM


About the library

NOTE: The Main Library's Rooftop Terrace is closed through 2020 for repairs and renovations.

Salt Lake City's Main Library, designed by internationally-acclaimed architect Moshe Safdie in conjunction with VCBO Architecture, opened in February 2003 and remains one of the most architecturally unique structures in Utah. This striking 240,000 square-foot structure houses more than 500,000 books and other materials, yet serves as more than just a repository of books and computers. It reflects and engages the city's imagination and aspirations. The structure embraces a public plaza, with shops and services at ground level, reading galleries above, and a 300-seat auditorium.

A multi-level reading area along the Glass Lens at the southern facade of the building looks out onto the plaza with stunning views of the city and Wasatch Mountains beyond. Spiraling fireplaces on four floors resemble a column of flame from the vantage of 200 East and 400 South. The Urban Room between the Library and the Crescent Wall is a space for all seasons, generously endowed with daylight and open to magnificent views.

Upcoming events

Canceled
Wed, Aug 12, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, Aug 13, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Fri, Aug 14, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Aug 15, 9:00am - 6:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Aug 16, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Aug 17, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Aug 19, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Wed, Aug 19, 4:45pm - 5:45pm

Canceled
Thu, Aug 20, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Fri, Aug 21, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Aug 22, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Aug 26, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, Aug 27, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Fri, Aug 28, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Wed, Sep 02, 10:00am - 10:30am

Wed, Sep 02, 4:45pm - 5:45pm
Conference Room E

Thu, Sep 03, 10:00am - 10:30am

Thu, Sep 03, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Fri, Sep 04, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Canteena

Wed, Sep 09, 10:00am - 10:30am