close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Old Testament Scenes

Art Reception

2019-06-03 18:30:00 2019-06-03 19:30:00 America/Denver Old Testament Scenes Day-Riverside Branch 1575 West 1000 North Salt Lake City, UT 84116

Monday, June 03
6:30pm - 7:30pm

Add to Calendar 2019-06-03 18:30:00 2019-06-03 19:30:00 America/Denver Old Testament Scenes Paintings by Curtis McCarthy Exhibit runs from May 29 - July 10 Day-Riverside Branch 1575 West 1000 North Salt Lake City, UT 84116

Day-Riverside Branch

Spanish Area

Paintings by Curtis McCarthy Exhibit runs from May 29 - July 10

ARTIST STATEMENT

I have to admit I took Vincent van Gogh seriously when he said, ""If you hear a voice within you say 'you cannot paint' then by all means paint, and that voice will be silenced." -Vincent van Gogh (1853-1890)

Though I am not a trained painter I took the steps to paint some paintings. I like to see a painting that peaks my interest so I took the route of painting Old Testament scenes. Thought provoking scenes. Perhaps you know the stores depicted. If not you may research the stories. Or argue my interpretation. That is what I like about a painting. Challenging our senses. A painting is like a book, there is more to a book than the cover. What is the story being told, the emotions being nurtured?

Van Gogh was an interesting painter. He was not taken seriously in his lifetime and died (suicide) penniless and mentally disturbed but now his paintings are the most valuable, many selling for over 100 million each. If you have time go visit the Getty Museum in Los Angeles. It is a free museum and you must get your tickets in advance online. Don't miss their "Irises" by Vincent Van Gogh.

ARTIST BIO

After spending 30 years in prison (being able to go home at night) Curtis McCarthy wrote about his 30 year career in the book Prisoons: Prison Cartoons and Anecdotes. Curtis McCarthy writes continually but took some time to paint some large paintings portraying events in the Old Testament. Noticing how quickly people typically view paintings at galleries he wanted to paint thought provoking paintings for display at the library, his favorite institution.

Curtis and his wife Charice lives in Bluffdale, UT. He has four sons and nine grandchildren.

AGE GROUP:   All Ages  

EVENT TYPE:   Arts & Creativity  

TAGS:   Art Reception  

Day-Riverside Branch

Phone: 801-594-8632

Hours
Mon, Dec 09 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Dec 10 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Dec 11 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Dec 12 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Dec 13 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Dec 14 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Dec 15 1:00PM to 5:00PM


About the library

This beautiful facility was designed to complement the Rose Park neighborhood with sensitivity to its site on the Jordan River Parkway. An open space plan, with a large community meeting room and outside deck area, will accommodate this growing community for many years.

The south property of the Day-Riverside Branch is home to TreeUtah's EcoGarden, a "food forest" where all members of the community can learn about urban farming and organic gardening. The Day-Riverside Branch has a meeting room available for public use that features tables, chairs, a projector screen, and a piano.

Free parking is available to the west of the building, and free wi-fi access is provided throughout the library.

Upcoming events

Sat, Dec 14, 11:00am - 2:00pm
Children's Room

Sun, Dec 15, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Rescheduled
Sun, Dec 15, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
New date Sunday, December 15, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Mon, Dec 16, 11:00am - 11:30am
Meeting Room

Rescheduled
Mon, Dec 16, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
New date Monday, December 16, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Tue, Dec 17, 11:00am - 11:30am
Meeting Room

Tue, Dec 17, 5:00pm - 6:30pm
Study Room 1

Tue, Dec 17, 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Dec 18, 12:00pm - 1:00pm
OFFSITE: River's Bend Senior Center

Wed, Dec 18, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Wed, Dec 18, 5:30pm - 7:30pm

Thu, Dec 19, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Meeting Room

Fri, Dec 20, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Fri, Dec 20, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Meeting Room

Fri, Dec 20, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Meeting Room

Sun, Dec 22, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Rescheduled
Sun, Dec 22, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
New date Sunday, December 22, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Mon, Dec 23, 11:00am - 11:30am
Meeting Room

Fri, Dec 27, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Fri, Dec 27, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Meeting Room

Fri, Dec 27, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Meeting Room

Mon, Dec 30, 11:00am - 11:30am
Meeting Room

Tue, Dec 31, 11:00am - 11:30am
Meeting Room

Tue, Dec 31, 11:30am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Thu, Jan 02, 10:00am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Jan 03, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Fri, Jan 03, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Meeting Room

Fri, Jan 03, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Meeting Room

Mon, Jan 06, 11:00am - 11:30am
Meeting Room

Mon, Jan 06, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Jan 07, 11:00am - 11:30am
Meeting Room

Tue, Jan 07, 11:30am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Jan 07, 5:00pm - 6:30pm

Wed, Jan 08, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Fri, Jan 10, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Fri, Jan 10, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Meeting Room

Fri, Jan 10, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Meeting Room

Mon, Jan 13, 11:00am - 11:30am
Meeting Room

Mon, Jan 13, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Meeting Room