close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

The Creator's Canvas

Art Reception

2019-07-20 15:00:00 2019-07-20 17:00:00 America/Denver The Creator's Canvas Day-Riverside Branch 1575 West 1000 North Salt Lake City, UT 84116

Saturday, July 20
3:00pm - 5:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-07-20 15:00:00 2019-07-20 17:00:00 America/Denver The Creator's Canvas Photography by Jeffrey Shockley Day-Riverside Branch 1575 West 1000 North Salt Lake City, UT 84116

Day-Riverside Branch

Spanish Area

Photography by Jeffrey Shockley

Exhibit runs from July 17–August 28

ARTIST STATEMENT

It is almost overwhelming to think about anything that might be larger than life.  An all- powerful life force - An infinite source of beauty and creativity that has the ability to craft, faction, formulate, build and dream things into existence.  All around us, for as far as we can see, the evidence of mesmerizing artistry exists in physical form.  These pictures attempt to capture, in various ways, the vibrancy, the majesty and the breathtaking aspects of nature, from remote Rocky Mountain places to the western coastline.

http://www.shockartexposure.com/

 

ARTIST BIO

The photographer, Jeffrey Shockley, was born and raised in the suburbs of Colorado.  He later became a transplant to the Salt Lake City area over 20 years ago.  For a number of years, Jeff spent time in front of the camera as a model and gained an appreciation and respect for the skill, artistry and creativity it takes to be behind the camera.  Because of that, he desired to try his hand at it.  Jeff has a deep interest in landscapes and our natural surroundings.   This art display, titled “the Creator’s Canvas”, will be Mr. Shockley’s inaugural showing of his growing collection.  He loves to capture things that seem breath-taking, intriguing or in some way inspiring.  For him, there is also a growing interest in images that appear edgy or shocking.  Through his eyes, we are dared to see the creation around us. 

Creation - a thing which has been made or invented, especially something showing artistic talent

AGE GROUP:   All Ages  

EVENT TYPE:   Arts & Creativity  

TAGS:   Art Reception  

Day-Riverside Branch


Hours
We're closed Wednesday June 03
We're closed Thursday June 04
We're closed Friday June 05
We're closed Saturday June 06
We're closed Sunday June 07
We're closed Monday June 08
We're closed Tuesday June 09
We're closed Wednesday June 10
Mon, Jun 01 Closed
Tue, Jun 02 Closed
Wed, Jun 03 Closed
Thu, Jun 04 Closed
Fri, Jun 05 Closed
Sat, Jun 06 Closed
Sun, Jun 07 Closed


About the library

This beautiful facility was designed to complement the Rose Park neighborhood with sensitivity to its site on the Jordan River Parkway. An open space plan, with a large community meeting room and outside deck area, will accommodate this growing community for many years.

The south property of the Day-Riverside Branch is home to TreeUtah's EcoGarden, a "food forest" where all members of the community can learn about urban farming and organic gardening. The Day-Riverside Branch has a meeting room available for public use that features tables, chairs, a projector screen, and a piano.

Free parking is available to the west of the building, and free wi-fi access is provided throughout the library.

Upcoming events

Canceled
Thu, Jun 04, 10:00am - 11:00am

Canceled
Fri, Jun 05, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Jun 05, 3:30pm - 4:30pm

Canceled
Fri, Jun 05, 4:30pm - 5:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Jun 08, 11:00am - 11:30am

Canceled
Mon, Jun 08, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Canceled
Tue, Jun 09, 11:00am - 11:30am

Canceled
Fri, Jun 12, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Jun 12, 3:30pm - 4:30pm

Canceled
Fri, Jun 12, 4:30pm - 5:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Jun 15, 11:00am - 11:30am

Canceled
Tue, Jun 16, 11:00am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jun 18, 10:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 18, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Jun 19, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Jun 19, 3:30pm - 4:30pm

Canceled
Fri, Jun 19, 4:30pm - 5:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Jun 22, 11:00am - 11:30am

Canceled
Tue, Jun 23, 11:00am - 11:30am

Canceled
Wed, Jun 24, 12:00pm - 1:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Jun 26, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Jun 26, 3:30pm - 4:30pm

Canceled
Fri, Jun 26, 4:30pm - 5:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Jun 29, 11:00am - 11:30am

Canceled
Tue, Jun 30, 11:00am - 11:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jul 02, 10:00am - 11:00am

Canceled
Fri, Jul 03, 11:00am - 12:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Jul 03, 3:30pm - 4:30pm

Canceled
Fri, Jul 03, 4:30pm - 5:30pm