close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

The Art of Painting and the Truth of Mind

Art Reception

2019-08-10 16:00:00 2019-08-10 17:30:00 America/Denver The Art of Painting and the Truth of Mind Main Library

Saturday, August 10
4:00pm - 5:30pm

Add to Calendar 2019-08-10 16:00:00 2019-08-10 17:30:00 America/Denver The Art of Painting and the Truth of Mind Art by Yaodong Hu (Exhibiting with Mike Christensen) Main Library

Art by Yaodong Hu (Exhibiting with Mike Christensen)

Exhibit runs from August 10—September 20

ARTIST STATEMENT

I have fallen in love with calligraphy and painting ever since my childhood. However, I did not manage to find enough time to develop this talent due to the obligations of my own career. It was not until I retired when I finally got time I needed to pursue my interest in this area. I enrolled myself into the Senior Citizens’ College to study Chinese calligraphy and Painting, specializing in flower, bird, animal and landscape painting. Twenty-three years of diligent practice, hard work and development, from basic skills to proficiency, from imitation to innovation, from entry-level to advanced level, have brought me vitality, good health, wisdom as well as friendship. The benefits of my painting work are immeasurable. Not only are my golden old years filled with joy and happiness, but I have also indeed realized my long-cherished dream of becoming a master of Chinese Painting.

ARTIST BIO

Why do I practice Painting?


Music, chess, calligraphy, and painting,

The quintessence of Chinese culture;


Poetry, calligraphy, painting and seal,

The four key elements of traditional Chinese paining;


I love calligraphy and painting,

My lifetime pursuit;


After my retirement,

Comes the opportunity;


Working hard,

Over twenty years;


In my eighties,

My dream became true;


The advantage of calligraphy and painting,

An endless enjoyment;


To raise the spirit,

To strengthen mind and body;


To make a lots of friends of painting,

To increase knowledge;


To learn painting skills from each other,

And to prolong one’s life!

In Chinese: 


琴棋书画,中国精粹

诗书画印,国画四要

吾爱书画,一生追求

退休之后,方展良机

辛勤耕耘,二十余载

耄耋之年,初获梦圆

书画好处,其乐无穷

振奋精神,强健心身

广交画友,增进知识

切磋技艺,延年益寿

 

AGE GROUP:   All Ages  

EVENT TYPE:   Arts & Creativity  

TAGS:   Art Reception  

Main Library

Phone: 801-524-8200

Hours
Mon, Aug 19 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Aug 20 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Aug 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Aug 22 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Aug 23 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Aug 24 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Aug 25 1:00PM to 5:00PM


About the library

Salt Lake City's Main Library, designed by internationally-acclaimed architect Moshe Safdie (see related titles in our catalog) in conjunction with VCBO Architecture, opened in February 2003 and remains one of the most architecturally unique structures in Utah. This striking 240,000 square-foot structure houses more than 500,000 books and other materials, yet serves as more than just a repository of books and computers. It reflects and engages the city's imagination and aspirations. The six-story curving, walkable wall embraces the public plaza, with shops and services at ground level, reading galleries above, and a 300-seat auditorium. A multi-level reading area along the glass lens at the southern facade of the building looks out onto the plaza with stunning views of the city and Wasatch Mountains beyond. A roof-top garden, accessible by walking the crescent wall or the elevators, offers a 360 degree view of the Salt Lake Valley. Spiraling fireplaces on four floors resemble a column of flame from the vantage of 200 East and 400 South. The Urban Room between the library and the crescent wall is a space for all seasons, generously endowed with daylight and open to magnificent views.

Upcoming events

Sat, Aug 24, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Craft Room

Sat, Aug 24, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Mon, Aug 26, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Computer Lab

Tue, Aug 27, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Aug 27, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Aug 27, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Tue, Aug 27, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
The Plot Community Garden

Tue, Aug 27, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Rooftop Terrace

Wed, Aug 28, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Aug 28, 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Rooftop Terrace

Thu, Aug 29, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Thu, Aug 29, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
The Plot Community Garden

Thu, Aug 29, 6:30pm - 8:30pm
Fireplace Level 4

Fri, Aug 30, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Aug 30, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Fri, Aug 30, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Sep 03, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Sep 03, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Sep 03, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Tue, Sep 03, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Creative Lab

Wed, Sep 04, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Sep 04, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Conference Room B

Wed, Sep 04, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Creative Lab

Wed, Sep 04, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Children's Gallery

Wed, Sep 04, 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Rooftop Terrace

Thu, Sep 05, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Thu, Sep 05, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
The Plot Community Garden

Thu, Sep 05, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Thu, Sep 05, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Fri, Sep 06, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Sep 06, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Creative Lab

Fri, Sep 06, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Fri, Sep 06, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Sat, Sep 07, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
Computer Lab

Sat, Sep 07, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Story Room

Canceled
Sat, Sep 07, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat, Sep 07, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Auditorium

Mon, Sep 09, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Mon, Sep 09, 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Computer Lab
Registration opens Monday, August 26 2019 at 9:00am

Mon, Sep 09, 7:00pm - 10:00pm
Auditorium

Mon, Sep 09, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Computer Lab
Registration opens Monday, August 26 2019 at 9:00am

Tue, Sep 10, 9:00am - 4:00pm

Tue, Sep 10, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Sep 10, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Sep 10, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Wed, Sep 11, 9:00am - 4:00pm

Wed, Sep 11, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Sep 11, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Wednesday, August 28 2019 at 9:00am

Wed, Sep 11, 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Rooftop Terrace

Thu, Sep 12, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Thu, Sep 12, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
The Plot Community Garden

Thu, Sep 12, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Thursday, August 29 2019 at 9:00am

Fri, Sep 13, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Sep 13, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Friday, August 30 2019 at 9:00am

Fri, Sep 13, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Fri, Sep 13, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Fri, Sep 13, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
OFFSITE: The Leonardo

Sat, Sep 14, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Story Room

Sat, Sep 14, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Canteena

Sat, Sep 14, 3:30pm - 5:00pm

Sat, Sep 14, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Auditorium

Sun, Sep 15, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Auditorium

Mon, Sep 16, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Mon, Sep 16, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Mon, Sep 16, 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Computer Lab
Registration opens Monday, September 2 2019 at 9:00am

Mon, Sep 16, 5:30pm - 7:30pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Monday, September 2 2019 at 9:00am

Tue, Sep 17, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Sep 17, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Sep 17, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Tue, Sep 17, 5:30pm - 7:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Tuesday, September 3 2019 at 9:00am

Wed, Sep 18, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Sep 18, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Conference Room B

Wed, Sep 18, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Wednesday, September 4 2019 at 9:00am

Wed, Sep 18, 7:30pm - 8:30pm
Rooftop Terrace

Thu, Sep 19, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Thu, Sep 19, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
The Plot Community Garden

Fri, Sep 20, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Sep 20, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Friday, September 6 2019 at 9:00am

Fri, Sep 20, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Fri, Sep 20, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Sat, Sep 21, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Sat, Sep 21, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
Computer Lab
Registration opens Saturday, September 7 2019 at 9:00am

Sat, Sep 21, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Canteena

Sat, Sep 21, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
The Plot Community Garden

Sat, Sep 21, 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Shops at Library Square - Art at the Main

Sun, Sep 22, 1:00pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Sep 23, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Mon, Sep 23, 5:00pm - 8:00pm
Computer Lab
Registration opens Monday, September 9 2019 at 9:00am

Mon, Sep 23, 6:30pm - 8:00pm
Canteena