close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Fluid States

Art Reception

2019-09-14 16:00:00 2019-09-14 17:30:00 America/Denver Fluid States Sweet Branch

Saturday, September 14
4:00pm - 5:30pm

Add to Calendar 2019-09-14 16:00:00 2019-09-14 17:30:00 America/Denver Fluid States Art by Jimmy Stoddard Sweet Branch

Art by Jimmy Stoddard

Exhibit runs from September 9— October 19

Artist Statement

The work you are looking at always begins with a photo. Beeswax and damar resin medium are layered to create textures and depth. Pigmented wax is used along with alcohol inks to create color. Over the last year, I have been working on developing my own encaustic pigments from the things around me: sunflowers and roses from my yard, sands from southern Utah, stones from northern Arizona, coffee from the shop down the street. These images are the places and things in my life as I remember them, changeable and unreal. The combination of static "facts" like city streets and fluid "ideas" in the color and textures echo the places in my memory, and feel more true than any photograph could be.

Artist Bio

Photography has long been a constant in my artistic life. When I was a child, I was fascinated with my aunt Sandy's cameras. When I was a teen, I was given a Pentax K1000 and shot roll after roll. I moved away from photography for a time following a major setback—when I was in my 20s, someone broke into my van and stole my camera and hundreds of rolls of undeveloped film—but I eventually started taking pictures again, and went on to finish the photo program at SLCC. However, I’ve grown frustrated in recent years with the sterility of digital images. Using the same tools as a million other artists has established a uniformity of style, differentiated only by clicks on the keyboard or the newest light modifier. The inclusion of encaustic painting in my work has opened a new world of expression. Now I am back to the physicality of touching my images. Honey and pine has replaced the smell of fixer and my darkroom is now a Black and Decker griddle. I love putting my hands on the paper again.

AGE GROUP:   All Ages  

EVENT TYPE:   Arts & Creativity  

TAGS:   Art Reception  

Sweet Branch

Phone: 801-594-8651

Hours
Mon, Oct 14 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Oct 15 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Oct 16 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Oct 17 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Oct 18 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Oct 19 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Oct 20 Closed


About the library

The Sweet Branch is the sister branch of the Anderson-Foothill Branch using the same modular design. The branch contains over 8,000 square feet of service space, including a public meeting room that can be used for a variety of community gathering needs, from community council meetings to music performances to neighborhood celebrations. Free parking is available to the north of the building, and free wi-fi access is provided throughout the library.

Upcoming events

Tue, Oct 22, 10:00am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Tue, Oct 22, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Oct 23, 10:30am - 11:30am
Meeting Room

Wed, Oct 23, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Meeting Room

Canceled
Thu, Oct 24, 10:30am - 11:00am

Thu, Oct 24, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Thu, Oct 24, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Sat, Oct 26, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Oct 29, 10:00am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Tue, Oct 29, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Oct 30, 10:30am - 11:30am
Meeting Room

Wed, Oct 30, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Meeting Room

Canceled
Thu, Oct 31, 10:30am - 11:00am

Thu, Oct 31, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Tue, Nov 05, 10:00am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Tue, Nov 05, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Nov 05, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Nov 06, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Wed, Nov 06, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Meeting Room

Thu, Nov 07, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Sat, Nov 09, 2:00pm - 4:30pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Nov 12, 10:00am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Tue, Nov 12, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Nov 13, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Wed, Nov 13, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Meeting Room

Thu, Nov 14, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Sat, Nov 16, 4:00pm - 5:30pm