close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Utah Printmakers 2019

Art Reception

2019-10-10 17:30:00 2019-10-10 19:00:00 America/Denver Utah Printmakers 2019 Main Library 210 East 400 South Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Thursday, October 10
5:30pm - 7:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-10-10 17:30:00 2019-10-10 19:00:00 America/Denver Utah Printmakers 2019 Group Show Exhibit runs from Sept 28 - Nov 8 Main Library 210 East 400 South Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Main Library

The Gallery at Library Square

Group Show Exhibit runs from Sept 28 - Nov 8

ARTISTS STATEMENT

This exhibition endeavors to provide an insight into the diverse range of Printmaking and Book Arts taking place in Utah today. The invited artists represent different areas of the state, and are at different stages in their careers: some recent graduates and others more established artists and educators.

 The show also reflects the array of techniques and approaches employed by the artists as they have created their prints, and include works in Etching, Lithography, Letterpress, Collagraphy, Relief Printing, Original Digital Prints and Book Arts. Several of the works have employed multiple mediums to create the final image.

 The techniques mentioned here are all very different; some are quite tactile, some more drawing like, and others photographic, but all can be included under the term - Printmaking. Book Arts pieces can include the above print techniques but may also include many other technical aspects of the discipline, such as book binding and papermaking to name just two.

 The works in this exhibit also reveal the personal interests of the artists, and the concepts that are of most interest to them. No theme was set as we wanted the work to indicate the personal direction of the artists, and how this is then realized in combination with a particular medium. Like any artistic discipline it is the artists’ affinity for a particular material and technique, married to a compelling idea that creates the most interesting work.

 During October 2019, The Art and Art History Dept at the University of Utah, will be hosting the 5th Rocky Mountain Printmaking Alliance Symposium, an event that will include lectures, panels, print demonstrations, portfolio events and exhibitions. This exhibition is one of several that will be on during the symposium, in galleries in downtown Salt Lake City, and on the University of Utah campus. https://www.art.utah.edu/transposing-attitudes

AGE GROUP:   All Ages  

EVENT TYPE:   Arts & Creativity  

TAGS:   Art Reception  

Main Library


Hours
We're closed Tuesday July 14
We're closed Wednesday July 15
We're closed Thursday July 16
We're closed Friday July 17
We're closed Saturday July 18
We're closed Sunday July 19
We're closed Monday July 20
We're closed Tuesday July 21
Mon, Jul 13 Closed
Tue, Jul 14 Closed
Wed, Jul 15 Closed
Thu, Jul 16 Closed
Fri, Jul 17 Closed
Sat, Jul 18 Closed
Sun, Jul 19 Closed


About the library

NOTE: The Main Library's Rooftop Terrace is closed through 2020 for repairs and renovations.

Salt Lake City's Main Library, designed by internationally-acclaimed architect Moshe Safdie in conjunction with VCBO Architecture, opened in February 2003 and remains one of the most architecturally unique structures in Utah. This striking 240,000 square-foot structure houses more than 500,000 books and other materials, yet serves as more than just a repository of books and computers. It reflects and engages the city's imagination and aspirations. The structure embraces a public plaza, with shops and services at ground level, reading galleries above, and a 300-seat auditorium.

A multi-level reading area along the Glass Lens at the southern facade of the building looks out onto the plaza with stunning views of the city and Wasatch Mountains beyond. Spiraling fireplaces on four floors resemble a column of flame from the vantage of 200 East and 400 South. The Urban Room between the Library and the Crescent Wall is a space for all seasons, generously endowed with daylight and open to magnificent views.

Upcoming events

Canceled
Wed, Jul 15, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Wed, Jul 15, 4:45pm - 5:45pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 16, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Sun, Jul 19, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Canceled
Mon, Jul 20, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 22, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jul 23, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Sat, Jul 25, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 29, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jul 30, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Mon, Aug 03, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Aug 05, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Wed, Aug 05, 4:45pm - 5:45pm

Canceled
Thu, Aug 06, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, Aug 06, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Aug 07, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Aug 12, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, Aug 13, 10:00am - 10:30am