close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Utah Printmakers 2019

Art Reception

2019-10-10 17:30:00 2019-10-10 19:00:00 America/Denver Utah Printmakers 2019 Main Library 210 East 400 South Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Thursday, October 10
5:30pm - 7:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-10-10 17:30:00 2019-10-10 19:00:00 America/Denver Utah Printmakers 2019 Group Show Exhibit runs from Sept 28 - Nov 8 Main Library 210 East 400 South Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Main Library

The Gallery at Library Square

Group Show Exhibit runs from Sept 28 - Nov 8

ARTISTS STATEMENT

This exhibition endeavors to provide an insight into the diverse range of Printmaking and Book Arts taking place in Utah today. The invited artists represent different areas of the state, and are at different stages in their careers: some recent graduates and others more established artists and educators.

 The show also reflects the array of techniques and approaches employed by the artists as they have created their prints, and include works in Etching, Lithography, Letterpress, Collagraphy, Relief Printing, Original Digital Prints and Book Arts. Several of the works have employed multiple mediums to create the final image.

 The techniques mentioned here are all very different; some are quite tactile, some more drawing like, and others photographic, but all can be included under the term - Printmaking. Book Arts pieces can include the above print techniques but may also include many other technical aspects of the discipline, such as book binding and papermaking to name just two.

 The works in this exhibit also reveal the personal interests of the artists, and the concepts that are of most interest to them. No theme was set as we wanted the work to indicate the personal direction of the artists, and how this is then realized in combination with a particular medium. Like any artistic discipline it is the artists’ affinity for a particular material and technique, married to a compelling idea that creates the most interesting work.

 During October 2019, The Art and Art History Dept at the University of Utah, will be hosting the 5th Rocky Mountain Printmaking Alliance Symposium, an event that will include lectures, panels, print demonstrations, portfolio events and exhibitions. This exhibition is one of several that will be on during the symposium, in galleries in downtown Salt Lake City, and on the University of Utah campus. https://www.art.utah.edu/transposing-attitudes

AGE GROUP:   All Ages  

EVENT TYPE:   Arts & Creativity  

TAGS:   Art Reception  

Main Library

Phone: 801-524-8200

Hours
We're closed Tuesday April 07
We're closed Wednesday April 08
We're closed Thursday April 09
We're closed Friday April 10
We're closed Saturday April 11
We're closed Sunday April 12
We're closed Monday April 13
We're closed Tuesday April 14
Mon, Apr 06 Closed
Tue, Apr 07 Closed
Wed, Apr 08 Closed
Thu, Apr 09 Closed
Fri, Apr 10 Closed
Sat, Apr 11 Closed
Sun, Apr 12 Closed


About the library

NOTE: The Main Library's Rooftop Terrace is closed through 2020 for repairs and renovations.

Salt Lake City's Main Library, designed by internationally-acclaimed architect Moshe Safdie in conjunction with VCBO Architecture, opened in February 2003 and remains one of the most architecturally unique structures in Utah. This striking 240,000 square-foot structure houses more than 500,000 books and other materials, yet serves as more than just a repository of books and computers. It reflects and engages the city's imagination and aspirations. The structure embraces a public plaza, with shops and services at ground level, reading galleries above, and a 300-seat auditorium.

A multi-level reading area along the Glass Lens at the southern facade of the building looks out onto the plaza with stunning views of the city and Wasatch Mountains beyond. Spiraling fireplaces on four floors resemble a column of flame from the vantage of 200 East and 400 South. The Urban Room between the Library and the Crescent Wall is a space for all seasons, generously endowed with daylight and open to magnificent views.

Upcoming events

Canceled
Tue, Apr 07, 10:00am - 11:00am

Canceled
Tue, Apr 07, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 07, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Apr 08, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Wed, Apr 08, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Apr 08, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Apr 08, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Apr 08, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Canceled
Thu, Apr 09, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, Apr 09, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Apr 09, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Canceled
Fri, Apr 10, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Apr 10, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Apr 11, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Apr 11, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Apr 11, 2:30pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Apr 12, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 14, 10:00am - 11:00am

Canceled
Tue, Apr 14, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 14, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 14, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Apr 15, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Wed, Apr 15, 4:45pm - 5:45pm

Canceled
Wed, Apr 15, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Canceled
Thu, Apr 16, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Fri, Apr 17, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Apr 18, 2:30pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Apr 18, 2:30pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Apr 19, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Canceled
Sun, Apr 19, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Mon, Apr 20, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 21, 10:00am - 11:00am

Canceled
Tue, Apr 21, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 21, 5:00pm - 7:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 21, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Apr 22, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Wed, Apr 22, 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Apr 22, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Apr 23, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Apr 23, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, Apr 23, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Canceled
Fri, Apr 24, 9:00am - 6:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Apr 24, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Apr 24, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Apr 24, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Apr 25, 9:00am - 6:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Apr 25, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Canceled
Sat, Apr 25, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Apr 25, 2:30pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Apr 26, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 28, 10:00am - 11:00am

Canceled
Tue, Apr 28, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 28, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 28, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Apr 29, 7:00am - 8:00am

Canceled
Wed, Apr 29, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Wed, Apr 29, 2:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Apr 30, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Fri, May 01, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Sat, May 02, 2:30pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sun, May 03, 1:30pm - 4:30pm

Canceled
Mon, May 04, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Canceled
Tue, May 05, 10:00am - 11:00am

Canceled
Tue, May 05, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Canceled
Wed, May 06, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Wed, May 06, 2:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Wed, May 06, 4:45pm - 5:45pm

Canceled
Thu, May 07, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, May 07, 7:00pm - 8:00pm