close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

LEAP into Science

Hands-on exploration with peers!

2019-12-12 16:00:00 2019-12-12 17:00:00 America/Denver LEAP into Science Glendale Branch 1375 Concord Street Salt Lake City, UT 84104

Thursday, December 12
4:00pm - 5:00pm

Add to Calendar 2019-12-12 16:00:00 2019-12-12 17:00:00 America/Denver LEAP into Science Elementary-aged kids can learn how to be a scientist through inquiry-based after-school workshops. These workshops are taught for youth, by youth. A great program for some hands-on exploration! Glendale Branch 1375 Concord Street Salt Lake City, UT 84104

Glendale Branch

Activity Room

Elementary-aged kids can learn how to be a scientist through inquiry-based after-school workshops. These workshops are taught for youth, by youth. A great program for some hands-on exploration!

AGE GROUP:   Tweens   Kids   Family  

EVENT TYPE:   Computers & Technology  

TAGS:   science  

Glendale Branch

Phone: 801-594-8660

Hours
Mon, Dec 09 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Dec 10 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Dec 11 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Dec 12 10:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Dec 13 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Dec 14 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Dec 15 1:00PM to 5:00PM


About the library

The Glendale Branch of the Salt Lake City Public Library system, designed by Architectural Nexus and opened in February of 2015, offers approximately 20,000 square feet of space, making it the largest City Library branch. The branch houses 40,000 circulating materials, public computers, a lounge area, a green screen room, and a grand piano donated through the Mundi Project.

The floor plan of the branch offers open views across the building while creating designated spaces for children's, teen, and adult Library collections. An enclosed activity room easily accommodates various Library programming, and a designated teen space offers a place for young adults to gather, study, and access Library resources and services.

Built with the Glendale neighborhood in mind, the building shape includes a curved form that reaches out and embraces the community while creating an outdoor plaza. Special colored concrete and landscaped designs represent the geographic area along the Jordan River, while the design scheme of interior signage incorporates colors and forms that represent the many ethnic backgrounds of Glendale neighborhood residents.

The branch is easily accessible to area students, being located just one block from Glendale Middle School, Mountain View Elementary School, and the Salt Lake City School District's Community Learning Center.

The diversity of building materials, finishes, and colors of the Glendale Branch reflect the diversity of the Glendale neighborhood, which is one of the most diverse communities in Salt Lake City.

Upcoming events

Thu, Dec 12, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Activity Room

Fri, Dec 13, 10:15am - 10:45am
Activity Room

Fri, Dec 13, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Activity Room

Fri, Dec 13, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Dec 16, 4:30pm - 5:00pm
Activity Room

Mon, Dec 16, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Meeting Room B

Mon, Dec 16, 6:00pm - 9:00pm
Creative Lab

Mon, Dec 16, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room A

Mon, Dec 16, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Activity Room

Tue, Dec 17, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Creative Lab

Wed, Dec 18, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Creative Lab

Wed, Dec 18, 6:00pm - 9:00pm
Creative Lab

Thu, Dec 19, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room B

Fri, Dec 20, 10:15am - 10:45am
Activity Room

Fri, Dec 20, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Activity Room

Fri, Dec 20, 11:00am - 11:30am

Fri, Dec 20, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Meeting Room B

Mon, Dec 23, 4:30pm - 5:00pm
Activity Room

Canceled
Mon, Dec 23, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Mon, Dec 23, 6:00pm - 9:00pm
Creative Lab

Fri, Dec 27, 10:15am - 10:45am
Activity Room

Fri, Dec 27, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Activity Room

Fri, Dec 27, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Dec 30, 4:30pm - 5:00pm
Activity Room

Canceled
Mon, Dec 30, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Mon, Dec 30, 6:00pm - 9:00pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Dec 31, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Creative Lab

Thu, Jan 02, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Creative Lab

Fri, Jan 03, 10:15am - 10:45am
Activity Room

Fri, Jan 03, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Activity Room

Sat, Jan 04, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Creative Lab

Mon, Jan 06, 4:30pm - 5:00pm
Activity Room

Mon, Jan 06, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Meeting Room B

Mon, Jan 06, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Activity Room

Tue, Jan 07, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Jan 07, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab

Wed, Jan 08, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Creative Lab

Thu, Jan 09, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Activity Room

Thu, Jan 09, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Creative Lab

Fri, Jan 10, 10:15am - 10:45am
Activity Room

Fri, Jan 10, 11:00am - 12:00pm
Activity Room

Sat, Jan 11, 4:00pm - 6:00pm
Creative Lab