close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Portrait of Place

Art Reception

2019-11-05 18:30:00 2019-11-05 19:30:00 America/Denver Portrait of Place Main Library 210 East 400 South Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Tuesday, November 05
6:30pm - 7:30pm

Add to Calendar 2019-11-05 18:30:00 2019-11-05 19:30:00 America/Denver Portrait of Place Exhibit runs from Nov 4 -Jan 10 · Art by students of Salt Lake Arts Academy Main Library 210 East 400 South Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Main Library

Children's Gallery

Exhibit runs from Nov 4 -Jan 10 · Art by students of Salt Lake Arts Academy

ARTIST STATEMENT

What makes a “place” important to us? When does a “place” become more than a location on a map? How can you describe it? When does it become home? In “Portrait of Place,” Salt Lake Art Academy’s 6th-8th grade visual arts students are exploring the ways humans confer meaning on places -- our cityscape, our natural world, and our planet.  

For the “Portrait of Place” project, students studied the work of Utah artist, Mark England and American artist, Seonna Hong.  Salt Lake Arts Academy students then are exploring human’s relationships with “place” -- in the home, in our city, and on our planet.  Our SLArts students were tasked with researching and choosing materials to evoke a feeling, idea or opinion about “place.” Using various materials, students created collages that are examples of the many layers of meaning we create, and find, when we search for our place in the world.

ARTIST BIO

Salt Lake Arts Academy (SLArts) is a public charter school for Grades 5 through 8 in downtown Salt Lake City. Students at SLArts enjoy a rigorous academic curriculum, enriched by daily arts education in Dance, Drama, Music and Visual Art. The pieces in this show were created by students under the direction of visual arts teacher, Elizabeth Wilson.

Our diverse student body comes to SLArts from throughout the Salt Lake Valley. Students are admitted to Salt Lake Arts Academy through an admissions lottery. No special “talent” is required to attend our school, and we serve a wide range of learners. We believe that daily arts experiences build creative habits of mind that lead to student success in high school and beyond.

AGE GROUP:   All Ages  

EVENT TYPE:   Arts & Creativity  

TAGS:   Art Reception  

Main Library

Phone: 801-524-8200

Hours
Mon, Nov 18 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Nov 19 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Nov 20 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Nov 21 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Nov 22 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Nov 23 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Nov 24 1:00PM to 5:00PM


About the library

Salt Lake City's Main Library, designed by internationally-acclaimed architect Moshe Safdie in conjunction with VCBO Architecture, opened in February 2003 and remains one of the most architecturally unique structures in Utah. This striking 240,000 square-foot structure houses more than 500,000 books and other materials, yet serves as more than just a repository of books and computers. It reflects and engages the city's imagination and aspirations. A six-story curving, walkable wall embraces the public plaza, with shops and services at ground level, reading galleries above, and a 300-seat auditorium. A multi-level reading area along the Glass Lens at the southern facade of the building looks out onto the plaza with stunning views of the city and Wasatch Mountains beyond. The Rooftop Terrace, accessible by walking the Crescent Wall or the elevators, offers a 360-degree view of the Salt Lake Valley. Spiraling fireplaces on four floors resemble a column of flame from the vantage of 200 East and 400 South. The Urban Room between the Library and the Crescent Wall is a space for all seasons, generously endowed with daylight and open to magnificent views.

Upcoming events

Tue, Nov 19, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Nov 19, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Nov 19, 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration is now closed

Tue, Nov 19, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Auditorium

Wed, Nov 20, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Nov 20, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Conference Room B

Wed, Nov 20, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Wed, Nov 20, 5:00pm - 8:00pm
Computer Lab

Wed, Nov 20, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Lower Urban Room

Thu, Nov 21, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Fri, Nov 22, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Nov 22, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Fri, Nov 22, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Canteena Gallery

Sat, Nov 23, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
Urban Room

Sat, Nov 23, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Craft Room

Sat, Nov 23, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Mon, Nov 25, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
SHARE Space

Tue, Nov 26, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Nov 26, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Auditorium

Wed, Nov 27, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Fri, Nov 29, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Mon, Dec 02, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Tue, Dec 03, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Dec 03, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Dec 03, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Auditorium

Wed, Dec 04, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Dec 04, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Conference Room B

Wed, Dec 04, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
OFFSITE: Utah Museum of Fine Arts

Wed, Dec 04, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Auditorium

Thu, Dec 05, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Thu, Dec 05, 10:30am - 2:30pm
Level 3 Conference Room

Thu, Dec 05, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Fri, Dec 06, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Dec 06, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Fri, Dec 06, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Creative Lab Audio Station
Registration opens Friday, November 22 2019 at 9:00am

Sat, Dec 07, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Story Room

Sat, Dec 07, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Canteena

Sat, Dec 07, 2:00pm - 5:00pm

Sat, Dec 07, 4:30pm - 5:30pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Saturday, December 7 2019 at 9:00am

Mon, Dec 09, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
SHARE Space

Mon, Dec 09, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Dec 10, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Dec 10, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Dec 10, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Auditorium

Wed, Dec 11, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Thu, Dec 12, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Fri, Dec 13, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Dec 13, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Sat, Dec 14, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Story Room

Sat, Dec 14, 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Shops at Library Square - Art at the Main

Sat, Dec 14, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Canteena

Sat, Dec 14, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Saturday, November 30 2019 at 9:00am

Sun, Dec 15, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Auditorium

Mon, Dec 16, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Mon, Dec 16, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Computer Lab
Registration opens Monday, December 2 2019 at 9:00am

Tue, Dec 17, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Dec 17, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Tue, Dec 17, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Auditorium

Wed, Dec 18, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Dec 18, 10:00am - 10:30am

Wed, Dec 18, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Computer Lab
Registration opens Wednesday, December 4 2019 at 9:00am

Wed, Dec 18, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Conference Room B

Thu, Dec 19, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Thu, Dec 19, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Thursday, December 5 2019 at 9:00am