close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.
Canceled

Amigos y Libros

Club de lectura en español para adultos.

Acompáñenos en una serie de interesantes pláticas sobre libros y autores en español. Se seleccionarán títulos de temas diversos y de las preferencias de los participantes del grupo. Para más información sobre el lugar de cada plática, lea más abajo.

Join us for a book club series of thoughtful discussions in Spanish of books and authors. Books are chosen from a wide range of subjects and are tailored to the group's preferences. See below for the location where each occurrence is taking place.

Febrero 12 (Main Library) · Cuando llegues al otro lado por Mariana Osorio Guma

Marzo 11 (Anderson-Foothill Branch) · La hija de la española por Karina Sainz Borgo

Abril 8 (Main Library) · Diablo guardián por Xavier Velasco

Mayo 13 (Marmalade Branch) · Los caidos por Carlos Manuel Álvarez

Junio 10 (Main Library) · Eco de la piel por Elia Barceló

Julio 8 (Main Library) · Sistema nervioso por Lina Meruane

Agosoto 12 (Anderson-Foothill Branch) · Nuestro mundo muerto por Liliana Colanzi

Septiembre 9 (Marmalade Branch) · El pais de Toó por Rodrigo Rosa

Octubre 14 (Anderson-Foothill Branch) · La verdad sospechosa por Juan Ruiz de Alarcon

Noviembre 18 (Glendale Branch) · Memorias de una mula por Jesus Paniagua

AGE GROUP:   Adults  

EVENT TYPE:   Books & Reading  

TAGS:   spanish   espanol   Club de lectura   book clubs   Book Club   book club   #español   #amigosylibros  

Main Library


Hours
We're closed Wednesday June 03
We're closed Thursday June 04
We're closed Friday June 05
We're closed Saturday June 06
We're closed Sunday June 07
We're closed Monday June 08
We're closed Tuesday June 09
We're closed Wednesday June 10
Mon, Jun 01 Closed
Tue, Jun 02 Closed
Wed, Jun 03 Closed
Thu, Jun 04 Closed
Fri, Jun 05 Closed
Sat, Jun 06 Closed
Sun, Jun 07 Closed


About the library

NOTE: The Main Library's Rooftop Terrace is closed through 2020 for repairs and renovations.

Salt Lake City's Main Library, designed by internationally-acclaimed architect Moshe Safdie in conjunction with VCBO Architecture, opened in February 2003 and remains one of the most architecturally unique structures in Utah. This striking 240,000 square-foot structure houses more than 500,000 books and other materials, yet serves as more than just a repository of books and computers. It reflects and engages the city's imagination and aspirations. The structure embraces a public plaza, with shops and services at ground level, reading galleries above, and a 300-seat auditorium.

A multi-level reading area along the Glass Lens at the southern facade of the building looks out onto the plaza with stunning views of the city and Wasatch Mountains beyond. Spiraling fireplaces on four floors resemble a column of flame from the vantage of 200 East and 400 South. The Urban Room between the Library and the Crescent Wall is a space for all seasons, generously endowed with daylight and open to magnificent views.

Upcoming events

Canceled
Wed, Jun 03, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Wed, Jun 03, 4:45pm - 5:45pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 04, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jun 04, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Jun 07, 1:30pm - 4:30pm

Rescheduled
Sun, Jun 07, 1:30pm - 4:30pm
New date Sunday, July 12, 1:30pm - 4:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Jun 10, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Wed, Jun 10, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 11, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Mon, Jun 15, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Jun 17, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Wed, Jun 17, 4:45pm - 5:45pm

Canceled
Thu, Jun 18, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Sun, Jun 21, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Jun 24, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jun 25, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Sat, Jun 27, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Jul 01, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Wed, Jul 01, 4:45pm - 5:45pm

Canceled
Thu, Jul 02, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, Jul 02, 7:00pm - 8:00pm