close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Dream Speak

Art Reception - Exhibit Runs Until Apr 17

2020-03-07 16:00:00 2020-03-07 17:30:00 America/Denver Dream Speak Main Library 210 East 400 South Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Saturday, March 07
4:00pm - 5:30pm

Add to Calendar 2020-03-07 16:00:00 2020-03-07 17:30:00 America/Denver Dream Speak Paintings by Fidalis Buehler, exhibiting alongside Rosa Villoslada · Mar 7 Reception will be held at The Gallery at Library Square at Main · Exhibit runs from Mar 7 - Apr 17 Main Library 210 East 400 South Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Paintings by Fidalis Buehler, exhibiting alongside Rosa Villoslada · Mar 7 Reception will be held at The Gallery at Library Square at Main · Exhibit runs from Mar 7 - Apr 17

ARTIST STATEMENT:

My work represents identity seen through the complexity of American culture and South Pacific traditions - calling attention to confrontations and conflicting realities; straddling the line between levity and earnest devotion. My work is a self-portrait seen through forms of expanded and contracted narratives. Image making is a ritual performed through playful conjuring – reassembling personal histories and inventing mythologies laden with fear, anxiety, dreams, revelations, magic, and mysticism.

ARTIST BIO:

Fidalis Buehler is an artist influenced by his Euro-American/Pacific Island history. The impact of his bi-racial upbringing and its divergence in the home guides his creative process. He currently resides in Utah and shows his work in regional, national, and international exhibitions including a publication with New American Paintings, exhibitions at NorthArt Center in Auckland, the University of Minnesota, and Gallery Protocol in Gainesville, Florida.


http://fidalis-buehler.com/

AGE GROUP:   All Ages  

EVENT TYPE:   Arts & Creativity  

TAGS:   Art Reception  

Main Library

Phone: 801-524-8200

Hours
We're closed Tuesday April 07
We're closed Wednesday April 08
We're closed Thursday April 09
We're closed Friday April 10
We're closed Saturday April 11
We're closed Sunday April 12
We're closed Monday April 13
We're closed Tuesday April 14
Mon, Apr 06 Closed
Tue, Apr 07 Closed
Wed, Apr 08 Closed
Thu, Apr 09 Closed
Fri, Apr 10 Closed
Sat, Apr 11 Closed
Sun, Apr 12 Closed


About the library

NOTE: The Main Library's Rooftop Terrace is closed through 2020 for repairs and renovations.

Salt Lake City's Main Library, designed by internationally-acclaimed architect Moshe Safdie in conjunction with VCBO Architecture, opened in February 2003 and remains one of the most architecturally unique structures in Utah. This striking 240,000 square-foot structure houses more than 500,000 books and other materials, yet serves as more than just a repository of books and computers. It reflects and engages the city's imagination and aspirations. The structure embraces a public plaza, with shops and services at ground level, reading galleries above, and a 300-seat auditorium.

A multi-level reading area along the Glass Lens at the southern facade of the building looks out onto the plaza with stunning views of the city and Wasatch Mountains beyond. Spiraling fireplaces on four floors resemble a column of flame from the vantage of 200 East and 400 South. The Urban Room between the Library and the Crescent Wall is a space for all seasons, generously endowed with daylight and open to magnificent views.

Upcoming events

Canceled
Tue, Apr 07, 10:00am - 11:00am

Canceled
Tue, Apr 07, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 07, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Apr 08, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Wed, Apr 08, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Apr 08, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Apr 08, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Apr 08, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Canceled
Thu, Apr 09, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, Apr 09, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Apr 09, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Canceled
Fri, Apr 10, 3:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Apr 10, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Apr 11, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Apr 11, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Apr 11, 2:30pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Apr 12, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 14, 10:00am - 11:00am

Canceled
Tue, Apr 14, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 14, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 14, 6:00pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Apr 15, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Wed, Apr 15, 4:45pm - 5:45pm

Canceled
Wed, Apr 15, 5:30pm - 8:30pm

Canceled
Thu, Apr 16, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Fri, Apr 17, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Apr 18, 2:30pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Apr 18, 2:30pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Apr 19, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Canceled
Sun, Apr 19, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Mon, Apr 20, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 21, 10:00am - 11:00am

Canceled
Tue, Apr 21, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 21, 5:00pm - 7:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 21, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Apr 22, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Wed, Apr 22, 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Canceled
Wed, Apr 22, 4:00pm - 6:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Apr 23, 9:00am - 9:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Apr 23, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, Apr 23, 7:00pm - 8:30pm

Canceled
Fri, Apr 24, 9:00am - 6:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Apr 24, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Apr 24, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Fri, Apr 24, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Apr 25, 9:00am - 6:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Apr 25, 12:00pm - 1:30pm

Canceled
Sat, Apr 25, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Sat, Apr 25, 2:30pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sun, Apr 26, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 28, 10:00am - 11:00am

Canceled
Tue, Apr 28, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 28, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Canceled
Tue, Apr 28, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Canceled
Wed, Apr 29, 7:00am - 8:00am

Canceled
Wed, Apr 29, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Wed, Apr 29, 2:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Thu, Apr 30, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Fri, May 01, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Sat, May 02, 2:30pm - 3:00pm

Canceled
Sun, May 03, 1:30pm - 4:30pm

Canceled
Mon, May 04, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Canceled
Tue, May 05, 10:00am - 11:00am

Canceled
Tue, May 05, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Canceled
Wed, May 06, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Wed, May 06, 2:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Wed, May 06, 4:45pm - 5:45pm

Canceled
Thu, May 07, 10:00am - 10:30am

Canceled
Thu, May 07, 7:00pm - 8:00pm