close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.
Canceled

New Readers Book Group

This is a reading group for English speaking adults who are new to reading. We take turns reading from the same book and talk about it as we go. It's a fun way to get better at reading!

The New Readers Book Group meets on the first and third Mondays of each month at 2:00pm.

To join this group, call Stephanie at 801-322-8131.

AGE GROUP:   Adults  

EVENT TYPE:   Books & Reading  

TAGS:   Book club  

Main Library


Hours
We're closed Thursday November 26
We're closed Friday November 27
Mon, Nov 23 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Tue, Nov 24 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Nov 25 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Thu, Nov 26 Closed
Fri, Nov 27 Closed
Sat, Nov 28 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Nov 29 Closed


About the library

NOTE: The Main Library's Rooftop Terrace is closed through 2020 for repairs and renovations.

Salt Lake City's Main Library, designed by internationally-acclaimed architect Moshe Safdie in conjunction with VCBO Architecture, opened in February 2003 and remains one of the most architecturally unique structures in Utah. This striking 240,000 square-foot structure houses more than 500,000 books and other materials, yet serves as more than just a repository of books and computers. It reflects and engages the city's imagination and aspirations. The structure embraces a public plaza, with shops and services at ground level, reading galleries above, and a 300-seat auditorium.

A multi-level reading area along the Glass Lens at the southern facade of the building looks out onto the plaza with stunning views of the city and Wasatch Mountains beyond. Spiraling fireplaces on four floors resemble a column of flame from the vantage of 200 East and 400 South. The Urban Room between the Library and the Crescent Wall is a space for all seasons, generously endowed with daylight and open to magnificent views.

Upcoming events

Wed, Nov 25, 10:00am - 10:30am

Wed, Nov 25, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Wed, Nov 25, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Wed, Nov 25, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Fri, Nov 27, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Animal Crossing: New Horizons Video Game

Mon, Nov 30, 11:00am - 11:30am

Mon, Nov 30, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Tue, Dec 01, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Dec 01, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Dec 01, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Wed, Dec 02, 10:00am - 10:30am

Wed, Dec 02, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Wed, Dec 02, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Wed, Dec 02, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Thu, Dec 03, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Thu, Dec 03, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Fri, Dec 04, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Animal Crossing: New Horizons Video Game

Fri, Dec 04, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Mon, Dec 07, 11:00am - 11:30am

Mon, Dec 07, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Tue, Dec 08, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Dec 08, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Dec 08, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Wed, Dec 09, 10:00am - 10:30am

Wed, Dec 09, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Wed, Dec 09, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Wed, Dec 09, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Thu, Dec 10, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Fri, Dec 11, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Animal Crossing: New Horizons Video Game

Fri, Dec 11, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Mon, Dec 14, 11:00am - 11:30am

Mon, Dec 14, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Tue, Dec 15, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Dec 15, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Dec 15, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Wed, Dec 16, 10:00am - 10:30am

Wed, Dec 16, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Wed, Dec 16, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Wed, Dec 16, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Thu, Dec 17, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Fri, Dec 18, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Animal Crossing: New Horizons Video Game

Fri, Dec 18, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Sun, Dec 20, 2:00pm - 3:30pm

Mon, Dec 21, 11:00am - 11:30am

Mon, Dec 21, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Tue, Dec 22, 10:00am - 10:30am

Tue, Dec 22, 11:00am - 11:30am

Tue, Dec 22, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Wed, Dec 23, 10:00am - 10:30am

Wed, Dec 23, 2:00pm - 2:30pm

Wed, Dec 23, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room

Wed, Dec 23, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Thu, Dec 24, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Urban Room