close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Avenues Open Studio: Works by Various Artists

Avenues Open Studio: Works by Various Artists

Art Reception

2023-01-14 16:00:00 2023-01-14 17:30:00 America/Denver Avenues Open Studio: Works by Various Artists Works by Various Artists · Exhibit runs Jan 14 through Feb 25 Sweet Branch -

Saturday, January 14
4:00pm - 5:30pm

Add to Calendar 2023-01-14 16:00:00 2023-01-14 17:30:00 America/Denver Avenues Open Studio: Works by Various Artists Works by Various Artists · Exhibit runs Jan 14 through Feb 25 Sweet Branch -

Works by Various Artists · Exhibit runs Jan 14 through Feb 25

Artist Statement

The original idea for Avenues Open Studios was to provide a venue for artists in the Avenues neighborhood of Salt Lake City.

We discussed at length the difficulty faced by many artists who have few options to display and promote their work in recent years. Many galleries have closed, many more restrict inclusion to those artists who are well known, mainstream and profitable. Artists who do not fit into the art business mold have no avenue for expression.

Avenues Open Studios was therefore conceived to include and embrace not only well-known artists, but neighborhood outsiders as well. Those artists who create experimental and unusual work, often without regard to perceived value…in short, artists who have been excluded from the usual art community.

Therefore, our statement of purpose:

No Judging

No Censoring

No Exclusion - everyone welcome

Art…Off the Grid.

The Avenues neighborhood is well-known as the City’s home to outsiders of all stripes. Namely, diversity in all it’s permutations. We are proud to be different and proud to offer inclusion to those who may not have been welcomed before…we are artists first.

Dates & Times 2023 - Our 9th Year!

Friday, September 22nd - 4pm to 8pm

Saturday, September 23rd - 11am to 7pm

Avenues Open Studios is entirely independent and self-funded and offers our visitors a chance to see art that may not be available elsewhere.

AGE GROUP: | All Ages |

EVENT TYPE: | Exhibits | Arts & Creativity |

Sweet Branch

Phone: 801-594-8651

Hours
Mon, Feb 06 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Feb 07 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Feb 08 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Feb 09 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Feb 10 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Feb 11 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Feb 12 Closed

About the branch

The Sweet Branch is the sister branch of the Anderson-Foothill Branch using the same modular design. The branch contains over 8,000 square feet of service space, including a public meeting room that can be used for a variety of community gathering needs, from community council meetings to music performances to neighborhood celebrations. Free parking is available to the north of the building, and free wi-fi access is provided throughout the library.

Upcoming events

Wed, Feb 08, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Thu, Feb 09, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Feb 10, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Sat, Feb 11, 11:00am - 1:00pm

Wed, Feb 15, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Thu, Feb 16, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Feb 17, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Feb 21, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Feb 22, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Thu, Feb 23, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Feb 24, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Mar 01, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Thu, Mar 02, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Mar 03, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Mar 07, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Mar 08, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Thu, Mar 09, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Mar 10, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room