close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

Registration now closed

Club K2

Adventures in Reading and Tinkering

2023-02-01 16:00:00 2023-02-01 17:00:00 America/Denver Club K2 Club K2: Adventures in Reading and Tinkering is a weekly after school program where kids in grades K–2 can meet for an hour of exploration through literature, science, and art. Main Library - Conference Room E

Wednesday, February 01
4:00pm - 5:00pm

Add to Calendar 2023-02-01 16:00:00 2023-02-01 17:00:00 America/Denver Club K2 Club K2: Adventures in Reading and Tinkering is a weekly after school program where kids in grades K–2 can meet for an hour of exploration through literature, science, and art. Main Library - Conference Room E

Main Library

Conference Room E

Club K2: Adventures in Reading and Tinkering is a weekly after school program where kids in grades K–2 can meet for an hour of exploration through literature, science, and art.

Week #1: Introduction to the book or theme and literacy activities inspired by the book or theme

Week #2: STEM activities inspired by the month's book or theme

Week #3: Art activities inspired by month's book theme

Week #4: Free choice tinkering

Week #5: Creative Lab or life-sized game

Main Library


Hours
Mon, Feb 06 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Feb 07 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Feb 08 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Feb 09 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Feb 10 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Feb 11 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Feb 12 11:00AM to 5:00PM

About the branch

NOTE: The Main Library's Rooftop Terrace is closed through 2022 for repairs and renovations.

Salt Lake City's Main Library, designed by internationally-acclaimed architect Moshe Safdie in conjunction with VCBO Architecture, opened in February 2003 and remains one of the most architecturally unique structures in Utah. This striking 240,000 square-foot structure houses more than 500,000 books and other materials, yet serves as more than just a repository of books and computers. It reflects and engages the city's imagination and aspirations. The structure embraces a public plaza, with shops and services at ground level, reading galleries above, and a 300-seat auditorium.

A multi-level reading area along the Glass Lens at the southern facade of the building looks out onto the plaza with stunning views of the city and Wasatch Mountains beyond. Spiraling fireplaces on four floors resemble a column of flame from the vantage of 200 East and 400 South. The Urban Room between the Library and the Crescent Wall is a space for all seasons, generously endowed with daylight and open to magnificent views.

Upcoming events

Wed, Feb 08, 10:15am - 10:45am

Wed, Feb 08, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Conference Room E
Registration is now closed

Thu, Feb 09, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Fri, Feb 10, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
This event is full

Sat, Feb 11, 10:00am - 6:00pm
Friends Used Book Sale Area

Sat, Feb 11, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Children's Entrance

Tue, Feb 14, 10:15am - 10:45am

Tue, Feb 14, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Computer Lab

Wed, Feb 15, 10:15am - 10:45am

Wed, Feb 15, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Conference Room E

Thu, Feb 16, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Fri, Feb 17, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Creative Lab

Sun, Feb 19, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Auditorium

Tue, Feb 21, 10:15am - 10:45am

Tue, Feb 21, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Computer Lab

Wed, Feb 22, 10:15am - 10:45am

Wed, Feb 22, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Conference Room E
This event is full

Thu, Feb 23, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Fri, Feb 24, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Feb 28, 10:15am - 10:45am

Wed, Mar 01, 10:15am - 10:45am

Thu, Mar 02, 2:00pm - 3:00pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Thu, Mar 02, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Fri, Mar 03, 3:00pm - 6:00pm

Tue, Mar 07, 10:15am - 10:45am

Wed, Mar 08, 10:15am - 10:45am

Thu, Mar 09, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab