Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: "Salt to Sky: Birds & The Land They Call Home" by Joel Hanes

"Salt to Sky: Birds & The Land They Call Home" by Joel Hanes

Art Exhibit Reception

2023-11-11 16:00:00 2023-11-11 17:30:00 America/Denver "Salt to Sky: Birds & The Land They Call Home" by Joel Hanes Wildlife Photography by Joel Hanes • Exhibit runs from Nov 11–Dec 23. Sweet Branch -

Saturday, November 11
4:00pm - 5:30pm

Add to Calendar 2023-11-11 16:00:00 2023-11-11 17:30:00 America/Denver "Salt to Sky: Birds & The Land They Call Home" by Joel Hanes Wildlife Photography by Joel Hanes • Exhibit runs from Nov 11–Dec 23. Sweet Branch -

Wildlife Photography by Joel Hanes • Exhibit runs from Nov 11–Dec 23.

ARTIST STATEMENT
As a wildlife photographer I seek to capture the beauty of the natural world. I am passionate about sharing and preserving wildlife and open space for our future generations.

My work is driven by a deep respect, love and awe of nature. I am constantly inspired by the diversity, uniqueness and personality inherent in all wildlife. I strive to bring attention to and raise awareness of their need for space and protection, and the critical role they play in our ecosystem.

My hope is that my photographs will inspire viewers to connect more deeply with the natural world, and to recognize the importance of protecting the delicate ecosystems that sustain us all.

ARTIST BIO
Joel Hanes was born in California, then raised between Wyoming, Utah and California. The open space of Wyoming and the mountains of Utah ingrained a love for the natural world. While in Utah Joel earned an Associates degree in anthropology and a certificate in photography.

Taking up photography seriously in 2019 Joel specializes in capturing wildlife in as natural a state as possible to capture his subject's unique personality without being influenced by humans.

Joel's photos have been published in the Wyoming Outdoor Council Calendar, been displayed at Red Butte Garden and have received multiple honorable mentions at the Utah State Fair.

Joel currently lives in Davis County and hopes that his photographs continue to inspire the public to protect the natural world.

AGE GROUP: | All Ages |

EVENT TYPE: | Exhibits | Arts & Creativity |

Sweet Branch

Phone: 801-594-8651

Hours
Mon, Feb 26 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Feb 27 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Feb 28 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Feb 29 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Mar 01 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Mar 02 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Mar 03 Closed

About the branch

The Sweet Branch is the sister branch of the Anderson-Foothill Branch using the same modular design. The branch contains over 8,000 square feet of service space, including a public meeting room that can be used for a variety of community gathering needs, from community council meetings to music performances to neighborhood celebrations. Free parking is available to the north of the building, and free wi-fi access is provided throughout the library.

Upcoming events

Tue, Mar 05, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Mar 06, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Thu, Mar 07, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Mar 08, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Mar 13, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Thu, Mar 14, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Mar 15, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Mar 19, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Mar 20, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Thu, Mar 21, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Mar 22, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Mar 26, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Wed, Mar 27, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Thu, Mar 28, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Mar 29, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room