Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: Preschool Storytime

Preschool Storytime

at Marmalade

2024-04-24 10:30:00 2024-04-24 11:15:00 America/Denver Preschool Storytime Stories, rhymes, and fun to help kids get ready to read! Marmalade Branch - Multi-Purpose Room

Wednesday, April 24
10:30am - 11:15am

Add to Calendar 2024-04-24 10:30:00 2024-04-24 11:15:00 America/Denver Preschool Storytime Stories, rhymes, and fun to help kids get ready to read! Marmalade Branch - Multi-Purpose Room

Marmalade Branch

Multi-Purpose Room

Stories, rhymes, and fun to help kids get ready to read!

AGE GROUP: | Preschoolers |

EVENT TYPE: | Storytimes | Books & Reading |

Marmalade Branch

Phone: 801-594-8680

Hours
Mon, Apr 15 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Apr 16 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Apr 17 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Apr 18 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Apr 19 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Apr 20 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Apr 21 Closed

About the branch

The Salt Lake City Public Library's Marmalade Branch is the anchor of a mixed-use project developed as a key part of the Redevelopment Agency (RDA) of Salt Lake City's master plan for the Marmalade/West Capitol Hill area of the city. The neighborhood serves as a gateway to Salt Lake City from the north, and the Marmalade Branch is both a hub for neighborhood gatherings and an important welcome for visitors, highlighting a focus on development in the area. On-street parking is available on 500 North and 300 West, and UTA routes offer service with stops immediately in front of the Library on 300 West.

The two-story Marmalade Branch, designed by Blalock & Partners Architectural Design Studio and completed in early 2016, provides 18,600 square feet of new construction to support a thriving and growing community. The first floor includes the Moka Cafe, featuring local coffee and chocolate; a Creative Lab with the latest maker technologies like 3D printing and music-making software as well as "old school" tech such as sewing machines and a turntable; a flexible Children's area; and the very popular Music and Movies collection. The second floor includes the Adult collection, study rooms for a range of group sizes, and a large, flexible multi-purpose room with tiered seating to allow for a wide variety of events. The multi-purpose room has already been very popular with the community, hosting community feedback sessions, film screenings, TEDx events, music recitals, and the highly-popular Coffee and Chocolate Society. The second floor also features a wrap-around terrace offering views of the Capitol Building to the east, Salt Lake City's picturesque skyline and landscape to the south and, to the north, views to a public plaza and open green space as part of a new mixed-use development.

The project utilizes an exterior shading device along the west-facing glass to minimize solar heat gain yet still promote a dynamic interaction with the street and passersby. Its compact footprint reduces land use and allows for a high-performance building envelope. The use of LED lights, lighting control systems, occupancy sensors, and daylight harvesting reduce the amount of electrical energy consumption while the flood of natural light creates an inviting interior environment for patrons and an efficient, balanced workplace for staff. In honor of these sustainability features, the Marmalade Branch was awarded the LEED Silver certification from the US Green Building Council (USGBC).

Upcoming events

Thu, Apr 18, 10:30am - 11:00am
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, Apr 18, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Fri, Apr 19, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Canceled
Mon, Apr 22, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Tue, Apr 23, 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Conference Room

Tue, Apr 23, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Conference Room

Wed, Apr 24, 10:30am - 11:15am
Multi-Purpose Room

Wed, Apr 24, 3:00pm - 3:45pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Wed, Apr 24, 3:30pm - 4:30pm
Conference Room

Canceled
Wed, Apr 24, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Thu, Apr 25, 10:30am - 11:00am
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, Apr 25, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Fri, Apr 26, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Mon, Apr 29, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Tue, Apr 30, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Canceled
Tue, Apr 30, 5:00pm - 6:00pm

Wed, May 01, 10:30am - 11:15am
Multi-Purpose Room

Wed, May 01, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, May 02, 10:30am - 11:00am
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, May 02, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Fri, May 03, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Mon, May 06, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Tue, May 07, 3:00pm - 3:45pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Tue, May 07, 6:30pm - 7:30pm

Wed, May 08, 10:30am - 11:15am
Multi-Purpose Room

Wed, May 08, 3:00pm - 3:45pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Wed, May 08, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, May 09, 10:30am - 11:00am
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, May 09, 11:00am - 11:30am

Thu, May 09, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Fri, May 10, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Mon, May 13, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Tue, May 14, 10:30am - 12:25pm

Tue, May 14, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Tue, May 14, 3:30pm - 5:30pm
Conference Room

Tue, May 14, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Conference Room

Wed, May 15, 10:30am - 11:15am
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, May 16, 10:30am - 11:00am
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, May 16, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Fri, May 17, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room