Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

Senior Cinema

2024-06-11 10:30:00 2024-06-11 12:25:00 America/Denver Senior Cinema Watch a great movie, have some snacks, and catch up with friends! Each month we'll watch family-friendly movies that are closed-captioned in English, so you don't miss a line. Marmalade Branch - Multi-Purpose Room

Tuesday, June 11
10:30am - 12:25pm

Add to Calendar 2024-06-11 10:30:00 2024-06-11 12:25:00 America/Denver Senior Cinema Watch a great movie, have some snacks, and catch up with friends! Each month we'll watch family-friendly movies that are closed-captioned in English, so you don't miss a line. Marmalade Branch - Multi-Purpose Room

Marmalade Branch

Multi-Purpose Room

Watch a great movie, have some snacks, and catch up with friends! Each month we'll watch family-friendly movies that are closed-captioned in English, so you don't miss a line.

Senior Cinema happens the 2nd Tuesday of each month (except for April) at 10:30am. Light refreshments will be served.

Tue, Jan 9, 10:30am · Back to the Future
 
Tue, Feb 13, 10:30am · Bye Bye Birdie
 
Tue, Mar 12, 10:30am · 9 to 5
 
Tue, Apr 16, 10:30am · The Princess Bride
 
Tue, May 14, 10:30am · UP
 
Tue, Jun 11, 10:30am · An American In Paris
 
Tue, Jul 9, 10:30am · Jumanji
 
Tue, Aug 13, 10:30am · Raising Arizona
 
Tue, Sep 10, 10:30am · E.T.
 
Tue, Oct 8, 10:30am · Frankenstein (1931)
 
Tue, Nov 12, 10:30am · The Odd couple

Tue, Dec 10, 10:30am · March of the Penguins

AGE GROUP: | Seniors | Family | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Movies |

Marmalade Branch

Phone: 801-594-8680

Hours
Mon, Jun 24 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Jun 25 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Jun 26 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Jun 27 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Jun 28 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jun 29 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Jun 30 Closed

About the branch

The Salt Lake City Public Library's Marmalade Branch is the anchor of a mixed-use project developed as a key part of the Redevelopment Agency (RDA) of Salt Lake City's master plan for the Marmalade/West Capitol Hill area of the city. The neighborhood serves as a gateway to Salt Lake City from the north, and the Marmalade Branch is both a hub for neighborhood gatherings and an important welcome for visitors, highlighting a focus on development in the area. On-street parking is available on 500 North and 300 West, and UTA routes offer service with stops immediately in front of the Library on 300 West.

The two-story Marmalade Branch, designed by Blalock & Partners Architectural Design Studio and completed in early 2016, provides 18,600 square feet of new construction to support a thriving and growing community. The first floor includes the Moka Cafe, featuring local coffee and chocolate; a Creative Lab with the latest maker technologies like 3D printing and music-making software as well as "old school" tech such as sewing machines and a turntable; a flexible Children's area; and the very popular Music and Movies collection. The second floor includes the Adult collection, study rooms for a range of group sizes, and a large, flexible multi-purpose room with tiered seating to allow for a wide variety of events. The multi-purpose room has already been very popular with the community, hosting community feedback sessions, film screenings, TEDx events, music recitals, and the highly-popular Coffee and Chocolate Society. The second floor also features a wrap-around terrace offering views of the Capitol Building to the east, Salt Lake City's picturesque skyline and landscape to the south and, to the north, views to a public plaza and open green space as part of a new mixed-use development.

The project utilizes an exterior shading device along the west-facing glass to minimize solar heat gain yet still promote a dynamic interaction with the street and passersby. Its compact footprint reduces land use and allows for a high-performance building envelope. The use of LED lights, lighting control systems, occupancy sensors, and daylight harvesting reduce the amount of electrical energy consumption while the flood of natural light creates an inviting interior environment for patrons and an efficient, balanced workplace for staff. In honor of these sustainability features, the Marmalade Branch was awarded the LEED Silver certification from the US Green Building Council (USGBC).

Upcoming events

Mon, Jun 24, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Mon, Jun 24, 6:30pm - 7:45pm
Conference Room

Tue, Jun 25, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Conference Room

Wed, Jun 26, 10:30am - 11:15am
Multi-Purpose Room

Wed, Jun 26, 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Thu, Jun 27, 10:30am - 11:00am
Multi-Purpose Room

Tue, Jul 02, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Conference Room

Wed, Jul 03, 10:30am - 11:15am

Tue, Jul 09, 10:30am - 12:25pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Tue, Jul 09, 3:00pm - 4:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Tue, Jul 09, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Conference Room

Wed, Jul 10, 10:30am - 11:15am

Wed, Jul 10, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Fri, Jul 12, 3:00pm - 5:30pm
Multi-Purpose Room

Sat, Jul 13, 2:00pm - 3:00pm

Tue, Jul 16, 5:00pm - 6:00pm
Conference Room

Wed, Jul 17, 10:30am - 11:15am

Thu, Jul 18, 10:30am - 11:00am
Multi-Purpose Room

Tue, Jul 23, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
Conference Room