Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.
Image for event: "A Day in the Life," Paintings by John Butler

"A Day in the Life," Paintings by John Butler

ART EXHIBIT RECEPTION

2024-02-10 16:00:00 2024-02-10 17:30:00 America/Denver "A Day in the Life," Paintings by John Butler Opening reception for "A Day in the Life," Paintings by John Butler. Art Exhibit runs February 10–March 23. Sweet Branch -

Saturday, February 10
4:00pm - 5:30pm

Add to Calendar 2024-02-10 16:00:00 2024-02-10 17:30:00 America/Denver "A Day in the Life," Paintings by John Butler Opening reception for "A Day in the Life," Paintings by John Butler. Art Exhibit runs February 10–March 23. Sweet Branch -

Opening reception for "A Day in the Life," Paintings by John Butler. Art Exhibit runs February 10–March 23.

ARTIST STATEMENT

Working with a variety of media in multiple styles and subjects keeps it fresh and passionate for John. “I never wanted my art to feel like surgery. In the operating room it’s completely technical, repetitive, and precision-driven, while in the studio I can be loose, spontaneous, and creative. Both disciplines complement and balance my personality.”

ARTIST BIO

“I was born with a pencil in one hand and a paintbrush in the other.” John Butler can’t recall the time he started in art. Maybe it started by genetic instinct propagated from his great grandfather Johann Renn, a German immigrant who painted porcelain, shaving mugs, and fine china for a living. Through high school John worked mainly with pencil, pen and ink, and occasionally watercolor. His artistic pursuits were suspended after he enrolled in medical school and completed a residency in Ear Nose and Throat surgery at the University of Utah ...although he never lost his passion for art. After his medical training, John launched his artistic revival and resumed painting (oil and acrylic), photography, and pen and ink drawing.

AGE GROUP: | All Ages | Adults |

EVENT TYPE: | Exhibits | Arts & Creativity |

Sweet Branch

Phone: 801-594-8651

Hours
Mon, Jul 15 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Tue, Jul 16 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, Jul 17 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, Jul 18 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, Jul 19 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jul 20 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Jul 21 Closed

About the branch

The Sweet Branch is the sister branch of the Anderson-Foothill Branch using the same modular design. The branch contains over 8,000 square feet of service space, including a public meeting room that can be used for a variety of community gathering needs, from community council meetings to music performances to neighborhood celebrations. Free parking is available to the north of the building, and free wi-fi access is provided throughout the library.

Upcoming events

Thu, Jul 18, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Jul 19, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Tue, Jul 23, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Thu, Jul 25, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Jul 26, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Wed, Jul 31, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Wed, Jul 31, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Thu, Aug 01, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Aug 02, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Tue, Aug 06, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Aug 07, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Thu, Aug 08, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Aug 09, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Wed, Aug 14, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Thu, Aug 15, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Thu, Aug 15, 10:30am - 11:00am

Fri, Aug 16, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room