close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a colour combintion to give he most comfortable contrast.

Art & Maker Class

with Clever Octopus

2020-02-04 10:00:00 2020-02-04 11:00:00 America/Denver Art & Maker Class Main Library 210 East 400 South Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Tuesday, February 04
10:00am - 11:00am

Add to Calendar 2020-02-04 10:00:00 2020-02-04 11:00:00 America/Denver Art & Maker Class Make art — and practice sustainability! Clever Octopus Creative Resource Center provides reused, repurposed, or donated supplies and clean, discarded materials that have been saved from the landfill. Main Library 210 East 400 South Salt Lake City, UT 84111

Main Library

Craft Room

Make art — and practice sustainability! Clever Octopus Creative Resource Center provides reused, repurposed, or donated supplies and clean, discarded materials that have been saved from the landfill.

Art & Maker Classes are held every week from September through May, except for the following dates:

Nov 25–29
Dec 23, 2019–Jan 3, 2020


Clever Octopus, Inc. is a local non-profit dedicated to fostering creativity and environmental awareness through art, science, technology, engineering, and math.

AGE GROUP:   Preschoolers  

EVENT TYPE:   Workshops   Arts & Creativity  

TAGS:    

Main Library

Phone: 801-524-8200

Hours
Mon, Feb 17 Closed
Tue, Feb 18 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Wed, Feb 19 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Thu, Feb 20 9:00AM to 9:00PM
Fri, Feb 21 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Feb 22 9:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Feb 23 1:00PM to 5:00PM


About the library

NOTE: The Main Library's Rooftop Terrace is closed through 2020 for repairs and renovations.

Salt Lake City's Main Library, designed by internationally-acclaimed architect Moshe Safdie in conjunction with VCBO Architecture, opened in February 2003 and remains one of the most architecturally unique structures in Utah. This striking 240,000 square-foot structure houses more than 500,000 books and other materials, yet serves as more than just a repository of books and computers. It reflects and engages the city's imagination and aspirations. The structure embraces a public plaza, with shops and services at ground level, reading galleries above, and a 300-seat auditorium.

A multi-level reading area along the Glass Lens at the southern facade of the building looks out onto the plaza with stunning views of the city and Wasatch Mountains beyond. Spiraling fireplaces on four floors resemble a column of flame from the vantage of 200 East and 400 South. The Urban Room between the Library and the Crescent Wall is a space for all seasons, generously endowed with daylight and open to magnificent views.

Upcoming events

Sun, Feb 23, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Mon, Feb 24, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
SHARE Space

Mon, Feb 24, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Feb 25, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Feb 25, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
This event is full

Tue, Feb 25, 5:00pm - 7:00pm
Creative Lab

Tue, Feb 25, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Tue, Feb 25, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Story Room

Tue, Feb 25, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Auditorium

Wed, Feb 26, 7:00am - 8:00am
Urban Room

Wed, Feb 26, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Feb 26, 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Computer Lab

Wed, Feb 26, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Thu, Feb 27, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Fri, Feb 28, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Feb 28, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Canteena Gallery

Fri, Feb 28, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Canteena

Sat, Feb 29, 2:30pm - 3:00pm
Story Room

Sun, Mar 01, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Mon, Mar 02, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Tue, Mar 03, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Mar 03, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Registration opens Tuesday, February 25 2020 at 5:00pm

Tue, Mar 03, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Tue, Mar 03, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Tuesday, February 25 2020 at 9:00am

Tue, Mar 03, 7:00pm - 9:00pm

Wed, Mar 04, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Wed, Mar 04, 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Computer Lab

Wed, Mar 04, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Wed, Mar 04, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Thu, Mar 05, 10:00am - 10:30am
Story Room

Thu, Mar 05, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Thu, Mar 05, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Thursday, February 27 2020 at 9:00am

Fri, Mar 06, 10:00am - 11:00am
Story Room

Fri, Mar 06, 10:00am - 11:00am
Auditorium

Fri, Mar 06, 2:30pm - 4:00pm
Auditorium

Fri, Mar 06, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Canteena

Sat, Mar 07, 10:00am - 5:00pm

Sat, Mar 07, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
Computer Lab

Sat, Mar 07, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Story Room

Sat, Mar 07, 2:30pm - 3:00pm
Story Room

Sat, Mar 07, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
The Gallery at Library Square

Sun, Mar 08, 10:00am - 5:00pm

Sun, Mar 08, 4:00pm - 5:00pm

Canceled
Mon, Mar 09, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Tue, Mar 10, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Mar 10, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Registration opens Tuesday, March 3 2020 at 5:00pm

Tue, Mar 10, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Tue, Mar 10, 6:00pm - 7:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Tuesday, March 3 2020 at 9:00am

Tue, Mar 10, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Auditorium

Wed, Mar 11, 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Computer Lab
Registration opens Wednesday, February 26 2020 at 9:00am

Wed, Mar 11, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Wed, Mar 11, 7:00pm - 8:00pm
Fireplace Level 2

Wed, Mar 11, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Auditorium

Thu, Mar 12, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Lower Urban Room

Thu, Mar 12, 7:00pm - 9:00pm
Auditorium

Fri, Mar 13, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Friday, March 6 2020 at 9:00am

Fri, Mar 13, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Canteena

Sat, Mar 14, 10:00am - 5:00pm

Sat, Mar 14, 1:00pm - 2:00pm
Story Room

Sat, Mar 14, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Canteena

Sat, Mar 14, 2:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat, Mar 14, 2:30pm - 3:00pm
Story Room

Sat, Mar 14, 3:00pm - 5:00pm
Level 4 Conference Room

Sun, Mar 15, 10:00am - 5:00pm

Sun, Mar 15, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Auditorium

Sun, Mar 15, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Mon, Mar 16, 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Tue, Mar 17, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Mar 17, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Registration opens Tuesday, March 10 2020 at 5:00pm

Tue, Mar 17, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Wed, Mar 18, 2:00pm - 5:00pm
Computer Lab
Registration opens Wednesday, March 4 2020 at 9:00am

Wed, Mar 18, 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Level 2 Conference Room

Wed, Mar 18, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Tinker Lab

Thu, Mar 19, 7:00pm - 8:30pm
Creative Lab
Registration opens Thursday, March 12 2020 at 9:00am

Fri, Mar 20, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Canteena

Sat, Mar 21, 2:30pm - 3:00pm
Story Room

Sun, Mar 22, 3:00pm - 4:00pm

Mon, Mar 23, 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Urban Room

Tue, Mar 24, 10:00am - 11:00am
Craft Room

Tue, Mar 24, 4:00pm - 5:00pm
Registration opens Tuesday, March 17 2020 at 5:00pm

Tue, Mar 24, 6:00pm - 8:00pm

Tue, Mar 24, 6:30pm - 7:30pm
Story Room
Registration opens Tuesday, February 25 2020 at 7:00pm