Skip to main content
close
Font size options
Increase or decrease the font size for this website by clicking on the 'A's.
Contrast options
Choose a color combination to give the most comfortable contrast.

Nature Hour with the Salt Lake City Park Rangers

Discovering Brine Shrimp

2024-06-06 14:00:00 2024-06-06 15:00:00 America/Denver Nature Hour with the Salt Lake City Park Rangers Kids and families can get to know the natural world with the SLC Park Rangers! This summer, the Rangers will lead a different activity at each City Library branch. Click for the activity schedule. Sweet Branch -

Thursday, June 06
2:00pm - 3:00pm

Add to Calendar 2024-06-06 14:00:00 2024-06-06 15:00:00 America/Denver Nature Hour with the Salt Lake City Park Rangers Kids and families can get to know the natural world with the SLC Park Rangers! This summer, the Rangers will lead a different activity at each City Library branch. Click for the activity schedule. Sweet Branch -

Kids and families can get to know the natural world with the SLC Park Rangers! This summer, the Rangers will lead a different activity at each City Library branch. Click for the activity schedule.

Sat, June 1, 2-3pm, Chapman · Junior Rangers

  • Learn about the SLC Park Rangers and how to help make trails, parks, and natural areas great places to visit.

Thu, June 6, 2-3pm, Sweet · Discovering Brine Shrimp

  • Meet some brine shrimp and learn about their importance to our local ecosystem.

Mon, June 24, 11am-Noon, Anderson-Foothill · Nature Journaling

  • Explore the gardens and plant life surrounding the Library, make observations, and use your creative side to put them onto paper.

Thu, July 11, 3:30-4:30pm, Day-Riverside · Macroinvertebrates: Hidden Creatures of the Jordan River

  • Learn about some of the smallest animals, macroinvertebrates, who live in the Jordan River. We'll be outside, so dress appropriately and wear sunscreen!

Mon, July 15, 2-3pm, Glendale · Solar Ovens S’mores

  • Solar ovens are a great STEM activity to learn about renewable energy and how to harness the power of the sun to make your own mini oven. We'll provide the supplies and in the end we'll all enjoy a tasty snack!

Thu, July 18, 11am-Noon, Sprague · Solar Printing

  • Make a Cyanotype Print by using the sun to create beautiful images from materials you find on nature walk. 

Tue, July 30, 2-3pm, Marmalade · Animal Tracks

  • Learn how to identify different types of animal tracks and recreate the footprints of your favorite animals in clay.

 

AGE GROUP: | Kids | Family |

EVENT TYPE: | Workshops | Fun & Games |

Sweet Branch

Phone: 801-594-8651

Hours
We're closed Monday May 27
Mon, May 27 Closed
Tue, May 28 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Wed, May 29 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Thu, May 30 10:00AM to 8:00PM
Fri, May 31 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sat, Jun 01 10:00AM to 6:00PM
Sun, Jun 02 Closed

About the branch

The Sweet Branch is the sister branch of the Anderson-Foothill Branch using the same modular design. The branch contains over 8,000 square feet of service space, including a public meeting room that can be used for a variety of community gathering needs, from community council meetings to music performances to neighborhood celebrations. Free parking is available to the north of the building, and free wi-fi access is provided throughout the library.

Upcoming events

Thu, May 30, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Thu, May 30, 1:00pm - 3:00pm
Meeting Room

Fri, May 31, 10:00am - 12:00pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Jun 04, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Jun 05, 10:30am - 11:00am

Thu, Jun 06, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Jun 07, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Wed, Jun 12, 10:30am - 11:00am

Thu, Jun 13, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Jun 14, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Tue, Jun 18, 6:00pm - 8:00pm
Meeting Room

Wed, Jun 19, 10:30am - 11:00am

Thu, Jun 20, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Jun 21, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Jun 21, 1:30pm - 3:30pm
Meeting Room

Tue, Jun 25, 7:00pm - 8:00pm

Wed, Jun 26, 10:30am - 11:00am

Thu, Jun 27, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room

Fri, Jun 28, 10:30am - 11:00am
Meeting Room